Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

General Robot Rules - Answers

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Luke Skywalker
    commented on 's reply
    Originally posted by FTC5064
    Contained Beans

    Q: For our team marker, we have purchased a stuffed animal. The feet of the stuffed animal are filled with beans/rice. The beans are contained within the fabric of the animal and are not loose and there is no way to spill the beans without cutting open the feet of the stuffed animal. RG01.h rules loose ball bearings, coffee beans, etc. illegal. Is this considered loose? Is having beans is this manner legal?


    A: No, this is not allowed. If you wish to use the stuffed animal the beans must be removed and the marker must be stuffed with cotton or some other material that cannot spill out.

  • Luke Skywalker
    replied
    [QUOTE=FTC11525;n73070]I
    Servocity Motor

    Q: Is a Servocity premium planetary gear motor legal? See https://www.servocity.com/195-rpm-pr...ary-gear-motor [/QUOTE]


    A: No, this motor is not on the list of approved motors. See Rule RE09

    Leave a comment:


  • Luke Skywalker
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC10096
    Vertical Numbering

    Q: Can a team's robot numbers be arranged vertically? Like:
    1
    0
    0
    9
    6


    A: Yes

    Leave a comment:


  • Luke Skywalker
    replied
    [QUOTE=FTC6378;n72534]
    Suction Cups

    Q1: Could a suction cup be used to pick up a mineral? It doesn't seem to be a "closed gas device", unless it becomes one when it is sealed against the mineral.

    Q2: In a related question, could we make our own air blower to create a low pressure in a tube to lift minerals? Again, it wouldn't be a closed system, but the pressure differential would be present due to the air being blown out of the tube.

    Thanks for your guidance![/QUOTE
    ]

    A1: Yes, providing the suction cup does not damage the Minerals

    A2: Yes, providing the exhaust blower air is not constrained in any way that results in an increase in pressure.

    Leave a comment:


  • Luke Skywalker
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC12833
    Gearbox Modification

    Q: I know we can replace a motor's gearbox, but is it legal to modify the gearbox that comes on a motor? <RE15> says that (electronics) "may not be modified internally". However in the box underneath it says "Replacing gearboxes and/or changing gears" is an example of allowed modifications.
    A: Yes, replacing gears is a legal modification.

    Leave a comment:


  • Luke Skywalker
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC5501
    Sizing during Hanging

    Q: There has been some discussion as to the sizing of the robot to start a match. If the robot when it is hanging hangs down at an angle due to the location of the hook will the sizing be taken in the orientation the robot is hanging.

    For example, at inspection will the sizing box remain on the table in a level position with the bottom of the box parallel to the table and then the robot needs to be placed inside of the sizing box in the position it will hang? In the situation above the box remains level on the table but the robot has to be placed into it at an angle since that is how it is hanging or can the robot be placed into the box in a level position as well as to how it would sit on the field with all 4 wheels down?
    A: Rule <RG02> states that the Robot must fit into an 18" x 18" x 18" cube. There is no requirement that the flat sides of the cube be parallel to the floor. As long as the Robot, when hanging, can fit inside the cube, it is legal. Some robots, when latched, may flex open. Teams must make sure that the Robot still fits into the cube in this flexed condition.

    Leave a comment:


  • Luke Skywalker
    commented on 's reply
    Originally posted by FTC5501
    Sizing during Hanging

    Q: There has been some discussion as to the sizing of the robot to start a match. If the robot when it is hanging hangs down at an angle due to the location of the hook will the sizing be taken in the orientation the robot is hanging.

    For example, at inspection will the sizing box remain on the table in a level position with the bottom of the box parallel to the table and then the robot needs to be placed inside of the sizing box in the position it will hang? In the situation above the box remains level on the table but the robot has to be placed into it at an angle since that is how it is hanging or can the robot be placed into the box in a level position as well as to how it would sit on the field with all 4 wheels down?
    A: Rule <RG02> states that the Robot must fit into an 18" x 18" x 18" cube. There is no requirement that the flat sides of the cube be parallel to the floor. As long as the Robot, when hanging, can fit inside the cube, it is legal. Some robots, when latched, may flex open. Teams must make sure that the Robot still fits into the cube in this flexed condition.

  • Luke Skywalker
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC5501
    Phone Location

    Q: We know that the phone must be visible to field personnel so we had a question based on phone location. Would it be allowed to place our phone behind our stored deposit mechanism whereas half of the phone is visible before the start of the match? When we press play the stored deposit mechanism would raise to the location that it would be in for the entire match which would then make the entire phone display visible throughout the entire match. Is this a legal placement?
    A: Yes, this is a legal placement but if access to the screen is partially blocked it may be difficult if not impossible for the FTA to assist your team if something goes wrong. Extra time will not be provided to teams whose robot Controllers are hard to access.

    Leave a comment:


  • Luke Skywalker
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC10084
    Team Number

    Q: <RG06>.b states that the team number must be visible from at least two opposite sides of the Robot (180 degrees apart).

    Would having the team numbers back-to-back, for example on opposite sides of a flat board, be legal?
    A: Yes, providing the Team Number is clearly visible to field personnel from two opposite sides.

    Leave a comment:


  • Luke Skywalker
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC10084
    Team Number

    Q: <RG06>.b states that the team number must be visible from at least two opposite sides of the Robot (180 degrees apart).

    Would having the team numbers back-to-back, for example on opposite sides of a flat board, be legal?
    A: Yes, providing the Team Number is clearly visible to field personnel from two opposite sides.

    Leave a comment:


  • Luke Skywalker
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC5559
    Cheesecaking Mechanism

    Q: Are teams allowed to compete while using a mechanism built buy another team?

    For example: Team A has no way of landing and latching. Team B gives them a mechanism to attach to Team A's robot giving them the ability to land and latch
    .
    A: While FIRST encourages teams to help each other improve their robots, using a completed, specially designed mechanism designed and built by another team is not allowed. Cheesecaking, as it is commonly referred to, violates the spirit of the competition as well as rules <RM02> (COTS parts) and <T7> (bringing and using only one robot).


    Leave a comment:


  • Luke Skywalker
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC5559
    Cheesecaking Mechanism

    Q: Are teams allowed to compete while using a mechanism built buy another team?

    For example: Team A has no way of landing and latching. Team B gives them a mechanism to attach to Team A's robot giving them the ability to land and latch
    .
    A: While FIRST encourages teams to help each other improve their robots, using a completed, specially designed mechanism designed and built by another team is not allowed. Cheesecaking, as it is commonly referred to, violates the spirit of the competition as well as rules <RM02> (COTS parts) and <T7> (bringing and using only one robot).


    Leave a comment:


  • Luke Skywalker
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC13794
    Wedgetop Tread

    Q1: Is Wedgetop Tread (AndyMark Part number am-0522 illegal?
    Q2: Is Green Grippy Tread (am-2611) illegal?
    A1: Yes, Wedgetop tread is legal. However depending on how it is used, the weight of the robot, etc. the Inspectors may still require the bot to pass the test outlined in the Robot Inspector Manual. To summarize, the robot should be placed on top of a field tile and against an immovable surface (wall), the wheels will then be run at full power for 15 seconds. If there is any physical damage to the floor tile, the wheels are not allowed. Discoloration or black marks alone are not considered field damage.

    A2: Yes, the Green Grippy tread is legal but is under the same restrictions as listed in A1.

    Leave a comment:


  • Luke Skywalker
    replied
    Originally posted by ndillard2017
    Hook on Rope

    Q: If a robot were to use a hook at the end of a rope/string/tether on a pulley mechanism that was used exclusively for latching and deploying, would this be considered detached in violation of <G15>?


    A: No this is not considered detached and is not in violation of rule <G15>. Remember that in designing your bot you may not violate other rules such as <RG08> or <RG01.d>.

    Leave a comment:


  • Luke Skywalker
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC13438
    Tank Treads

    Q: I don't see tank treads on either the legal or illegal parts list. Can my kids use these? We wanted to order the Tetrix Max Tank Tread Kit. Is that legal?


    A: Yes, tank treads are legal but they are still subject to Rule < RG01>.

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X