Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

General Robot Rules - Answers

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • General Robot Rules - Answers

    Answers to questions about General Robot Rules can be found in this section.

  • #2
    Originally posted by kstevens2017_1
    Linear Actuators

    Q: Is use of a linear actuator legal in FTC?
    A: Linear Actuators are legal but they must be constructed by the teams themselves. Commercial Off The Shelf (COTS) linear actuators that contain more than one degree of freedom (rotation fo the motor and linear motion of the slide) violates <RM02> which states that "Purchased mechanism kits (for example, grippers) that violate the single degree of freedom rule, either assembled or requiring assembly, are not allowed".

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by kstevens2017_1
      Linear Actuators

      Q: Is use of a linear actuator legal in FTC?
      A: Linear Actuators are legal but they must be constructed by the teams themselves. Commercial Off The Shelf (COTS) linear actuators that contain more than one degree of freedom (rotation fo the motor and linear motion of the slide) violates <RM02> which states that "Purchased mechanism kits (for example, grippers) that violate the single degree of freedom rule, either assembled or requiring assembly, are not allowed".

      Comment


      • Luke Skywalker
        Luke Skywalker commented
        Editing a comment
        Originally posted by FTC5501
        Sizing during Hanging

        Q: There has been some discussion as to the sizing of the robot to start a match. If the robot when it is hanging hangs down at an angle due to the location of the hook will the sizing be taken in the orientation the robot is hanging.

        For example, at inspection will the sizing box remain on the table in a level position with the bottom of the box parallel to the table and then the robot needs to be placed inside of the sizing box in the position it will hang? In the situation above the box remains level on the table but the robot has to be placed into it at an angle since that is how it is hanging or can the robot be placed into the box in a level position as well as to how it would sit on the field with all 4 wheels down?
        A: Rule <RG02> states that the Robot must fit into an 18" x 18" x 18" cube. There is no requirement that the flat sides of the cube be parallel to the floor. As long as the Robot, when hanging, can fit inside the cube, it is legal. Some robots, when latched, may flex open. Teams must make sure that the Robot still fits into the cube in this flexed condition.

    • #4
      Originally posted by FTC13438
      Tank Treads

      Q: I don't see tank treads on either the legal or illegal parts list. Can my kids use these? We wanted to order the Tetrix Max Tank Tread Kit. Is that legal?


      A: Yes, tank treads are legal but they are still subject to Rule < RG01>.

      Comment


      • #5
        Originally posted by ndillard2017
        Hook on Rope

        Q: If a robot were to use a hook at the end of a rope/string/tether on a pulley mechanism that was used exclusively for latching and deploying, would this be considered detached in violation of <G15>?


        A: No this is not considered detached and is not in violation of rule <G15>. Remember that in designing your bot you may not violate other rules such as <RG08> or <RG01.d>.

        Comment


        • #6
          Originally posted by FTC13794
          Wedgetop Tread

          Q1: Is Wedgetop Tread (AndyMark Part number am-0522 illegal?
          Q2: Is Green Grippy Tread (am-2611) illegal?
          A1: Yes, Wedgetop tread is legal. However depending on how it is used, the weight of the robot, etc. the Inspectors may still require the bot to pass the test outlined in the Robot Inspector Manual. To summarize, the robot should be placed on top of a field tile and against an immovable surface (wall), the wheels will then be run at full power for 15 seconds. If there is any physical damage to the floor tile, the wheels are not allowed. Discoloration or black marks alone are not considered field damage.

          A2: Yes, the Green Grippy tread is legal but is under the same restrictions as listed in A1.

          Comment


          • #7
            Originally posted by FTC5559
            Cheesecaking Mechanism

            Q: Are teams allowed to compete while using a mechanism built buy another team?

            For example: Team A has no way of landing and latching. Team B gives them a mechanism to attach to Team A's robot giving them the ability to land and latch
            .
            A: While FIRST encourages teams to help each other improve their robots, using a completed, specially designed mechanism designed and built by another team is not allowed. Cheesecaking, as it is commonly referred to, violates the spirit of the competition as well as rules <RM02> (COTS parts) and <T7> (bringing and using only one robot).


            Comment


            • #8
              Originally posted by FTC5559
              Cheesecaking Mechanism

              Q: Are teams allowed to compete while using a mechanism built buy another team?

              For example: Team A has no way of landing and latching. Team B gives them a mechanism to attach to Team A's robot giving them the ability to land and latch
              .
              A: While FIRST encourages teams to help each other improve their robots, using a completed, specially designed mechanism designed and built by another team is not allowed. Cheesecaking, as it is commonly referred to, violates the spirit of the competition as well as rules <RM02> (COTS parts) and <T7> (bringing and using only one robot).


              Comment


              • #9
                Originally posted by FTC10084
                Team Number

                Q: <RG06>.b states that the team number must be visible from at least two opposite sides of the Robot (180 degrees apart).

                Would having the team numbers back-to-back, for example on opposite sides of a flat board, be legal?
                A: Yes, providing the Team Number is clearly visible to field personnel from two opposite sides.

                Comment


                • #10
                  Originally posted by FTC10084
                  Team Number

                  Q: <RG06>.b states that the team number must be visible from at least two opposite sides of the Robot (180 degrees apart).

                  Would having the team numbers back-to-back, for example on opposite sides of a flat board, be legal?
                  A: Yes, providing the Team Number is clearly visible to field personnel from two opposite sides.

                  Comment


                  • #11
                    Originally posted by FTC5501
                    Phone Location

                    Q: We know that the phone must be visible to field personnel so we had a question based on phone location. Would it be allowed to place our phone behind our stored deposit mechanism whereas half of the phone is visible before the start of the match? When we press play the stored deposit mechanism would raise to the location that it would be in for the entire match which would then make the entire phone display visible throughout the entire match. Is this a legal placement?
                    A: Yes, this is a legal placement but if access to the screen is partially blocked it may be difficult if not impossible for the FTA to assist your team if something goes wrong. Extra time will not be provided to teams whose robot Controllers are hard to access.

                    Comment


                    • #12
                      Originally posted by FTC5501
                      Sizing during Hanging

                      Q: There has been some discussion as to the sizing of the robot to start a match. If the robot when it is hanging hangs down at an angle due to the location of the hook will the sizing be taken in the orientation the robot is hanging.

                      For example, at inspection will the sizing box remain on the table in a level position with the bottom of the box parallel to the table and then the robot needs to be placed inside of the sizing box in the position it will hang? In the situation above the box remains level on the table but the robot has to be placed into it at an angle since that is how it is hanging or can the robot be placed into the box in a level position as well as to how it would sit on the field with all 4 wheels down?
                      A: Rule <RG02> states that the Robot must fit into an 18" x 18" x 18" cube. There is no requirement that the flat sides of the cube be parallel to the floor. As long as the Robot, when hanging, can fit inside the cube, it is legal. Some robots, when latched, may flex open. Teams must make sure that the Robot still fits into the cube in this flexed condition.

                      Comment


                      • #13
                        Originally posted by FTC12833
                        Gearbox Modification

                        Q: I know we can replace a motor's gearbox, but is it legal to modify the gearbox that comes on a motor? <RE15> says that (electronics) "may not be modified internally". However in the box underneath it says "Replacing gearboxes and/or changing gears" is an example of allowed modifications.
                        A: Yes, replacing gears is a legal modification.

                        Comment


                        • #14
                          [QUOTE=FTC6378;n72534]
                          Suction Cups

                          Q1: Could a suction cup be used to pick up a mineral? It doesn't seem to be a "closed gas device", unless it becomes one when it is sealed against the mineral.

                          Q2: In a related question, could we make our own air blower to create a low pressure in a tube to lift minerals? Again, it wouldn't be a closed system, but the pressure differential would be present due to the air being blown out of the tube.

                          Thanks for your guidance![/QUOTE
                          ]

                          A1: Yes, providing the suction cup does not damage the Minerals

                          A2: Yes, providing the exhaust blower air is not constrained in any way that results in an increase in pressure.

                          Comment


                          • #15
                            Originally posted by FTC10096
                            Vertical Numbering

                            Q: Can a team's robot numbers be arranged vertically? Like:
                            1
                            0
                            0
                            9
                            6


                            A: Yes

                            Comment

                            Working...
                            X