We would like clarification on whether the following scenarios are penalties. Let's assume that both red and blue robots have long arms that can reach into the crater for collection and the red robot is trying to reach into the crater to collect.

1. If the blue robot reaches its arm across the entire crater and blocks the red robot from any access to minerals in the crater for more than 5 seconds, is that a penalty on blue?
2. If the blue robot reaches its arm across the crater for more than 5 seconds but leaves a 12-inch gap for the red robot to reach through, is that a penalty on blue, i.e. does the blue robot have to leave a gap that's wider than 18 inches even if the red robot's arm mechanism is < 12 inches wide?
3. If the blue robot reaches its arm across the entire crater and blocks the red robot from any access to minerals in the crater for 4.5 seconds, then moves away, is that a penalty on blue?
4. If the blue robot and its partner take turns blocking one entire crater for 4 seconds each and continually deprives the red robot from any access to that crater, is that a penalty on blue?
5. If the blue robot blocks access to the entire crater with its arm and the red robot, in trying to aggressively push through to collect, damages the blue robot's arm, is that a penalty on red?


GDC: In general, the first four scenarios are covered by rule <G18>. The short answer is that the first four scenarios are defensive strategies that will likely result in Penalty points for the offending Alliance. Repeated applications of these strategies will likely escalate to a rule <G28> Major Penalty and the issuance of a Yellow Card and/or Red Card.

Scenario #1: Yes, the action described violates rule <G18>.

Scenario #2: The action described probably violates rule <G18>. The defending Robot needs to provide a reasonable amount of open access to the Crater as determined by the referee crew.

Scenario #3: Yes, per the guidance provided in the rule <G18> "orange box." Robots are expected to immediately move out of the Penalty situation when warned by a Referee. Robots are not allowed to intentionally Block for up to five seconds.

Scenario #4: Yes, see the answer to scenario #3.

Scenario #5: Rule <S1> applies to this scenario.