Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Driver Controlled Period - Answers

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Buzz
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC6209
    Subject:<GS4> Glyph Hoarding versus <GS10> Controlling or Blocking Access to Relics

    Question:
    If the last few (four or less) Glyphs are near a Red Relic (no one alliance placed them in the location). A Red robot is trying to collect it's Relic, while a Blue robot is trying to collect the Glyphs. They will both block the other from their collecting their scoring elements (e.g. Blue collecting Glyphs will block Red's arm from Reaching the Relic / Red's arm and physical location will prevent Blue physical access to the Glyphs.)

    Assuming they arrive to the area at the same time. Does ether have priority? If so how long can they remain?

    If one Alliance is collecting their Scoring Element, and the other arrives, will the collecting robot be immediately called for blocking (GS4 or GS10)? If not how long can they remain?

    Answer: Both Alliance Robots have rights and responsibilities provided by rules <GS4> and <GS10>. The Robots have equal rights to access their respective Glyphs and Relic. In this scenario, a Robot that is exercising its right to access a Game Element should not be penalized. Both Robots also have the responsibility to yield access to the opposing Alliance Robot quickly after it efficiently exercises its right to Possess the Relic or Glyphs as appropriate. Referees will assess the situation as it unfolds and they should provide verbal cues to the Drive Teams so that they are aware of their required action to avoid receiving Penalties. Defensive actions by a Robot in this scenario will be Penalized as described in the rules.

    Leave a comment:


  • Buzz
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC9794
    Subject: <GS4> Glyph Hoarding, <GS13> Preventing Relic Scoring and <G27> Egregious Behavior

    Question 1:
    If a robot is within 24 inches of the wall that is facing the recovery zones and possessing a relic that it is attempting to score, and while doing this is blocking the other alliance from accessing the only glyphs that are not scored on the field, would the robot scoring the relic receive a penalty?

    Question 2: Would the opposing alliance be allowed to interfere with the robot scoring the relic in order to access the glyphs that are being blocked?

    Answer 1: Blocking access to all of the remaining Glyphs is not allowed. If the Alliance has successfully Scored more than 20 Glyphs in their Cryptoboxes, rule <GS4> Glyph Hoarding consequences should be assessed. Otherwise, rule <G27> Egregious Behavior will be applied for blocking all of the remaining Glyphs to amplify the difficulty of Scoring activities.

    Answer 2: Rule <GS13> Preventing Relic Scoring consequences will come into play if the opposing Alliance Robot interferes with the Robot that is attempting to Score a Relic.
    Last edited by Buzz; 02-19-2018, 08:16 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Buzz
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC5501
    Subject: Servo Motion During Teleop Init

    Question: We have seen the ruling in the Q&A forum that servo movement to "Preferred" locations during init between the Autonomous and Driver-Controlled periods is not allowed. What about servo movements that do not put the robot into a preferred location? For example, we have a mechanism that is only used during the autonomous period. During the init between the autonomous and driver-controlled periods, it closes about 2 inches inside of our robot. This movement does not help us in anyway as we don't even use this mechanism in the driver-controlled period. Is this legal?

    Answer: The action described in the question positions the Robot's mechanism to a preferred location inside the Robot. This action violates rule <G6> Starting Gameplay Early.

    Leave a comment:


  • Buzz
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC9794
    Subject: <GS4> Glyph Hoarding - Glyph in the Safe Zone

    Question:
    Should glyphs that accidentally fall out of a cryptobox and remain in the alliance's safe zone count towards the amount of glyphs they are possessing for hoarding?

    Answer: Glyphs In the Safe Zone do not count towards the 20 Glyph threshold for rule <GS4>, provided that the Glyphs are not Possessed by a Robot and a Robot does not Block the opposing Alliance from accessing the Glyph(s).

    Leave a comment:


  • Buzz
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC12611
    Subject: Jewel In a Cryptobox

    Question:
    If a Jewel rolls into the Cryptobox during autonomous, is there a penalty to put glyphs on top of it during the driver-controlled period?

    Answer: No.

    Leave a comment:


  • Buzz
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC11090
    Subject: <S2> Robot Extension Outside the Playing Field Perimeter - 1) Inadvertent Actions and 2) Relic Outside the Playing Field Perimeter

    As our team was positioning to deliver the relic before end game, and without a completed Cryptobox Cipher, the driver passed the relic arm a couple of inches past the playing field wall and encroached into the recovery zone. Contact only with air. He immediately backed up a little bit to stay in the field and wait for end game.

    Question 1: Should this be a major penalty under <S2> Robot Extension Outside the Playing Field Perimeter or be considered an inadvertent, safe Robot extension Outside the Playing Field Perimeter?

    Question 2: If the robot does not extend past the perimeter wall, but the relic in its possession does, is that considered a Robot Extension Outside of playing field?
    Originally posted by FTC11090
    Answer 1: The Robot's action is Inadvertent and it should not be Penalized.

    Answer 2: Yes, per rule <G22>.

    Leave a comment:


  • Buzz
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC12831
    Subject: <GS14> Relic Control - Robot within 24 inches of the Playing Field Wall adjacent to the Relic Recovery Zone before the End Game

    Our team has the strategy to pick up the relic as soon as possible during the driver-controlled period and continue scoring glyphs until the end game, complying with rule <GS14>. Referencing rule <GS13>, an interpretation that was shared with our team is that a robot possessing a relic isn't allowed to come within 24" of the wall facing the relic recovery zone, or it would be considered an attempt to score.

    Question 1: Is rule <GS13> for assessing penalties to the opposing alliance when playing defense against a robot that is attempting to score a relic, thus the 24" rule is only applicable for a opposing alliance when a robot is eligible to score a relic and only for determination of encroachment?

    Question 2: Is a robot allowed to freely roam about the playing field while possessing a Relic? Specifically, may the robot drive within 24 inches of the playing field wall adjacent to the relic recovery zone without penalty?

    Answer 1: Yes.

    Answer 2: Yes and yes.

    Leave a comment:


  • Buzz
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC9957
    Subject: Robot Extension Into the Relic Recovery Zone at the end of the Match

    Question: Is it ok if part of the robot is left extended into the Relic Recovery Zone at the end of the Driver-Controlled Period? My team couldn't find anything in the rules explicitly prohibiting it, but we wanted to be sure.

    Answer: Yes.

    Leave a comment:


  • Buzz
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC8148
    Subject: Applying motor power after the end of a Match.

    Question:
    We have a lift apparatus that is quite heavy and will descend quickly during the few seconds after the end of the match if unpowered. Is it legal to apply a small amount of motor power to slow the lift down so that it does not damage its own gears during stop?

    Answer: For safety, motors must not be energized following the conclusion of the Match. If this is an issue, the Drive Team should place their Robot's lift apparatus into a safe position before the end of the Match.

    Leave a comment:


  • Buzz
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC13259
    Subject: <G17> Pinning, Trapping, or Blocking Robots - Blocking Access to a Cryptobox or Glyph pile

    Question 1:
    Can a blue robot park in front of the red glyph safe zone and scoot away before they are warned for blocking access to the cryptobox when a red alliance robot approaches?

    Question 2: In a similar note, could a blue robot park in front of the glyph pile forcing the red robot to maneuver around the stationary blue robot .

    Question 3: In either of these cases, the "defense" playing blue robot will slowing down the "red robot" and cause a delay in the ability of the red robot from filling up the cryptobox. Are these "legal" defensive tactics?

    Answer 1: Yes.

    Answer 2: Yes, provided there is is an open path for the Red Alliance Robot to access the Area guarded by the Parked Blue Alliance Robot.

    Answer 3: Yes.

    Leave a comment:


  • Buzz
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC9779
    Subject: <GS8> Interfering with Access to Cryptobox - Scoring a Glyph in an opposing Alliance Cryptobox

    Question:
    In the forum topic: "Driver Controlled Period Answers", post #5, specifically allows the scoring of Glyphs in an opponent's Cryptobox. We would like clarification on on how rule <GS8> Interfering with Access to Cryptobox, from Game Manual Part 2 will be applied in this situation. Specifically, if a RED alliance robot is actively scoring a Glyph in a BLUE alliance Cryptobox, and a BLUE alliance robot approaches the Cryptobox in possession of a Glyph, at what point is the RED alliance robot in violation of rule GS8 and assessed a major penalty? In this particular scenario, the RED alliance robot is clearly trying to score and get out of the way, and clearly is not trying to purposefully block the RED alliance robot.

    References: Game Manual Part 2 Rule <GS8>, Game Manual Part 2 <Section 1.4 Game Definitions Block/Blocking>, Game Manual Part 2 <Rule G17 Pinning, Trapping, or Blocking Robots>

    Answer: The Red Alliance Robot violates rule <GS8> and is assessed a Major Penalty when the Blue Alliance Robot Possessing a Glyph enters the Safe Zone.

    Leave a comment:


  • Buzz
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC0121
    Subject: <G24> Disabled Robot Eligibility - When do Penalties start?

    Scenario: A blue alliance drive team loses control of their robot (B1) at the start of the driver-controlled period, the robot B1 makes contact with Red Robot 1 (R1) while R1 is in a red safe zone trying to score a glyph, without breaking contact pins R1 such that R1 can't move, and within 9 seconds gets permission to disable their robot.

    Question: How are the penalties assessed? Specifically:
    (1) Is <GS8> assessed immediately upon the initial contact, and a <G17> assessed after 5 seconds of pinning?
    (2) Does <GS24> overrule any penalties normally incurred by pinning R1 for the remainder of the match?

    Answer: The Referee will make initial calls as the action occurs and escalate Penalties as appropriate. After the Match ends, the Referee will consult with the Field Technical Advisor to determine the point in time that B1 is officially declared Disabled. This time could be sooner than the 9 seconds stated in the scenario. The Referee will excuse Penalties as appropriate, based on the final ruling for when the Robot is considered to be Disabled. The Drive Team and Robot B1 are held accountable for complying with game rules until the time the Referee determined that the Robot was Disabled. Actions that occur after it was declared Disabled are not Penalized per rule <G24>.

    Leave a comment:


  • Buzz
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC7350
    Subject: Interfering with an opposing Alliance Robot that is Balanced on the Balancing Stone prior to the start of the End Game

    Question:
    During the Driver-Controlled Period, is it legal to push an opposing alliance robot off the balancing stone so that it is no longer balanced, if the push occurs prior to End Game where GS12 would apply?

    Answer: The action described in the question is legal.

    Leave a comment:


  • Buckaroo Banzai
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC7253

    Subject: Servo Motion During Teleop Init

    During this init for Driver Control, we move some servos to "sane" starting positions. Are these servo motions allowed in the Teleop Init between then end of auton and the start of teleop?


    A: No. Movement of parts of the robot into "preferred" positions is starting gameplay. If this happens prior to the start of the Driver Controlled Period, <G6> Starting Gameplay Early has been violated. Teams can avoid this by either waiting to "init" the robot after the start of the Driver Controlled period or moving the code that initializes the servos to after the "wait for start"

    Leave a comment:


  • Buzz
    replied
    Originally posted by FTC12971
    Subject: <G9> Stopping Game Play Late - Glyphs placed in a Cryptobox after the end of the Autonomous Period.

    Question 1: If a robot scores a glyph after the end of autonomous period, it is clear that the team will be assessed a minor penalty and, per <G9>, the glyph will not score for either autonomous or driver controlled points. If the alliance completes the column, will the alliance receive 20 points for completing the column? Ditto for row(s) and cipher?

    Question 2: During the driver-controlled period, may the alliance completely remove the illegally scored glyphs from the cryptobox and place them back in to achieve a legal score?

    Question 3: Will referees alert an alliance at the end of autonomous that they have illegally scored glyphs in a cryptobox?

    Answer 1: The position occupied by the illegally Scored Glyph is considered to be empty for Scoring purposes until a Glyph is legally Scored into that position. The illegally Scored Glyph does not count towards the Glyph, Row, Column, and Cipher Scores.

    Answer 2: Yes.

    Answer 3: Referees will attempt to communicate information about illegally Scored Glyphs to the Alliance.

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X