Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Driver Controlled Period - Answers

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #16
    Originally posted by FTC12611
    Subject: Jewel In a Cryptobox

    Question:
    If a Jewel rolls into the Cryptobox during autonomous, is there a penalty to put glyphs on top of it during the driver-controlled period?

    Answer: No.

    Comment


    • #17
      Originally posted by FTC9794
      Subject: <GS4> Glyph Hoarding - Glyph in the Safe Zone

      Question:
      Should glyphs that accidentally fall out of a cryptobox and remain in the alliance's safe zone count towards the amount of glyphs they are possessing for hoarding?

      Answer: Glyphs In the Safe Zone do not count towards the 20 Glyph threshold for rule <GS4>, provided that the Glyphs are not Possessed by a Robot and a Robot does not Block the opposing Alliance from accessing the Glyph(s).

      Comment


      • #18
        Originally posted by FTC5501
        Subject: Servo Motion During Teleop Init

        Question: We have seen the ruling in the Q&A forum that servo movement to "Preferred" locations during init between the Autonomous and Driver-Controlled periods is not allowed. What about servo movements that do not put the robot into a preferred location? For example, we have a mechanism that is only used during the autonomous period. During the init between the autonomous and driver-controlled periods, it closes about 2 inches inside of our robot. This movement does not help us in anyway as we don't even use this mechanism in the driver-controlled period. Is this legal?

        Answer: The action described in the question positions the Robot's mechanism to a preferred location inside the Robot. This action violates rule <G6> Starting Gameplay Early.

        Comment


        • #19
          Originally posted by FTC9794
          Subject: <GS4> Glyph Hoarding, <GS13> Preventing Relic Scoring and <G27> Egregious Behavior

          Question 1:
          If a robot is within 24 inches of the wall that is facing the recovery zones and possessing a relic that it is attempting to score, and while doing this is blocking the other alliance from accessing the only glyphs that are not scored on the field, would the robot scoring the relic receive a penalty?

          Question 2: Would the opposing alliance be allowed to interfere with the robot scoring the relic in order to access the glyphs that are being blocked?

          Answer 1: Blocking access to all of the remaining Glyphs is not allowed. If the Alliance has successfully Scored more than 20 Glyphs in their Cryptoboxes, rule <GS4> Glyph Hoarding consequences should be assessed. Otherwise, rule <G27> Egregious Behavior will be applied for blocking all of the remaining Glyphs to amplify the difficulty of Scoring activities.

          Answer 2: Rule <GS13> Preventing Relic Scoring consequences will come into play if the opposing Alliance Robot interferes with the Robot that is attempting to Score a Relic.
          Last edited by Mac McHale; 02-19-2018, 08:16 PM.

          Comment


          • #20
            Originally posted by FTC6209
            Subject:<GS4> Glyph Hoarding versus <GS10> Controlling or Blocking Access to Relics

            Question:
            If the last few (four or less) Glyphs are near a Red Relic (no one alliance placed them in the location). A Red robot is trying to collect it's Relic, while a Blue robot is trying to collect the Glyphs. They will both block the other from their collecting their scoring elements (e.g. Blue collecting Glyphs will block Red's arm from Reaching the Relic / Red's arm and physical location will prevent Blue physical access to the Glyphs.)

            Assuming they arrive to the area at the same time. Does ether have priority? If so how long can they remain?

            If one Alliance is collecting their Scoring Element, and the other arrives, will the collecting robot be immediately called for blocking (GS4 or GS10)? If not how long can they remain?

            Answer: Both Alliance Robots have rights and responsibilities provided by rules <GS4> and <GS10>. The Robots have equal rights to access their respective Glyphs and Relic. In this scenario, a Robot that is exercising its right to access a Game Element should not be penalized. Both Robots also have the responsibility to yield access to the opposing Alliance Robot quickly after it efficiently exercises its right to Possess the Relic or Glyphs as appropriate. Referees will assess the situation as it unfolds and they should provide verbal cues to the Drive Teams so that they are aware of their required action to avoid receiving Penalties. Defensive actions by a Robot in this scenario will be Penalized as described in the rules.

            Comment

            Working...
            X