Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Pre-Match - Answers

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Pre-Match - Answers

    Official Answers to questions about what happens Pre-Match can be found here.

  • #2
    Originally posted by FTC13284
    Subject: Pre-Match Orientation of Balancing Stones

    Q: Section 1.5.1 Pre-Match states that robots can be placed Balanced in any orientation on a Balancing Stone. Is there any restriction on the orientation of the Balancing Stone, or must it remain square to the perimeter walls?


    A: Please see the most recent version of the Game Manual Part 2. The Balancing Stones must remain square to the playing field walls when placing Robots prior to the start of the match.
    Last edited by Buzz; 10-12-2017, 03:13 PM. Reason: Updated the formatting.

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by FTC5664
      Subject: Section 1.5.1 Pre-Match Setup - Robot starting the Match On an Unbalanced Balancing Stone

      Question:
      When placing the robots at the start of the match, do they have to be balanced on the stone platforms or can the stone be in out of balance, but remain square to the field walls?

      Answer: The answer that you seek is found in the Game Manual Part 2, Section 1.5.1, constraint #1.
      1. Robots must start Balanced on a Balancing Stone of the same color as the Alliance, one (1) Robot per Balancing Stone. The Balancing Stone must remain square to the Playing Field Walls when the Robot is placed. If a Robot cannot be Balanced, the Robot is not eligible to earn points for their Alliance during the Autonomous Period however it still must start On the Balancing Stone.

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by FTC9779
        Subject: <G2> Pre-Match Robot Setup - Using the Playing Field Wall during pre-Match Robot setup.

        Question: During Pre-Match setup, can the team place their robot on the field against a perimeter wall to initialize and allow sensors to calibrate before placing it on the balancing stone? We've read the following references to Pre-Match Setup and cannot find anything that prohibits it: Game Manual Part 1 <T9> - Game Manual Part 2 <G2> - Game Manual Part 2 Section 1.5.1

        Answer: Yes, provided that the Drive Team stays on their Alliance's side of the Playing Field, does not move Scoring Elements (except for the pre-loaded Glyph), and does not delay the beginning of a Match.
        Last edited by Buzz; 10-24-2017, 08:25 PM.

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by FTC13259
          Subject: <G4> Robot Setup Alignment Devices - Extending an arm outside the 18-inch starting volume constraint during pre-Match set up.

          Question: From the Game Manual Part 2: "The intent of this rule is to prohibit the use of devices external to the Robot and to prevent the extension of any object or tool Outside the 18-inch (45.7cm) cube starting volume." Is it safe to assume that during pre-match robot setup on the balancing stone, the drive team may not drop/use a "long arm-" connected to a servo to detect the exact spot that splits the difference between the red and blue jewel?

          Answer: You are correct, the action described in the question violates rule <G4> if the arm extends outside the 18-inch volume constraint.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by FTC7043
            Subject: Section 1.5.1 Pre-Match and rule <G3> Robot Starting Volume - Pre-loaded Glyph

            Question: Our robot has an arm with a pair of servo-controlled gripper paddles which when open fit inside the 18" cube starting volume. However, those paddles cannot be closed to hold the glyph and remain within starting volume.

            I would like to verify that we can put a glyph (which would be outside the 18" volume) on the balance stone directly in front of and touching our robot. During autonomous the servos activate and grab the glyph.

            Answer: The answer that you seek is found in Section 1.5.1 and rule <G3> of the Game Manual Part 2. Robots are not required to Possess the pre-loaded Glyph and the Glyph may extend outside the 18-inch starting volume constraint. The setup described in the question satisfies the requirements for a pre-loaded Glyph.

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by FTC9765
              Subject: <G4> Robot Setup Alignment Devices

              Question:
              While rule <G4> prohibits "Humans standing on the other side of the field" to aid in initial alignment, can a member of the drive team, while placing the robot on the balancing stone, "back up a few steps" from the robot to sight in the proper alignment?

              Answer: Yes, a member of the Drive Team that is setting up the Robot on the Balancing Stone, may back up a few steps from the Robot to "sight in" the proper alignment. Keep in mind that the action must not interfere with other Drive Teams setting up their Robots, disturb Game Elements, or delay the start of the Match. Drive Teams that unnecessarily delay the beginning of a Match will incur a Minor Penalty for each offense per rule <G2>.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by FTC11897
                Subject: Section 1.5.1 Pre-Match - Using an initialization routine to aid pre-loading a Glyph

                Question:
                Is it legal to move a claw during the initialization routine in order to pre-load a glyph?

                Answer: Yes.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by FTC12971
                  Subject: <G4> Robot Setup Alignment Devices - Human arm

                  Question:
                  If a robot has an arm mounted on a servo that happens to be as long as a drive team member's forearm, would it be a violation of <G4> for the team member to set their robot on the balancing stone with their elbow touching the wall?

                  Answer: The action described violates rule <G4> because it does not satisfy the requirements for a legal alignment device. The human arm is not constructed from legal components, it is not part of the Robot, and it does not remain inside the 18-inch cube starting volume constraint during the setup process.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by FTC12971
                    Subject: <G4> Robot Setup alignment Devices - Range Sensor

                    Question:
                    May a drive team run an opmode during setup that uses a robot mounted range sensor to display on the driver station the distance to the wall?

                    Answer: Yes, the actions described in the post do not violate rule <G4>. Rule <G2> may come into play if the setup process unnecessarily delays the beginning of a Match.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by FTC9978
                      Subject: Section 1.5.1 Pre-Match - Pre-positioned/Pre-loaded Glyph in contact with the Playing Field Floor

                      Question: May the pre-positioned/pre-loaded Glyph contact the playing field floor?

                      Answer: A Glyph that is Possessed by the Robot (e.g., held in a gripper mechanism) may not contact the Playing Field Floor because of rule <G22>.

                      A Glyph that is in contact with a Robot, but is not Possessed, may touch the Playing Field Floor if the Glyph does not affect the Robot's Balance on the Balancing Stone (i.e., the Robot remains Balanced if the Glyph is removed.)

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by FTC5040
                        Subject: <G3> Robot Starting Volume - Using a Robot initialization routine in the Autonomous OpMode to comply with the Robot starting size constraint

                        Question:
                        Rule <RG02> says the robot is allowed to be initialized in order to fit inside the sizing limits during inspection. During Pre-Match while placing robots, is the robot allowed to be outside the starting volume as long as it moves within 18x18x18in with initialization before the match begins? If we are outside of 18x18x18in before initialization would we be violating rule <G4>?

                        Answer: Robots must satisfy the starting size constraint before the Referees randomly select the Cipher and Jewel positions. Game Manual Part 2, Section 1.5.7 contains a flowchart of Match play. Preceding Cipher and Jewel randomization, Drive Teams perform the flowchart step labeled "Push the init button on Driver Station." After completing the OpMode initialization step, the Robot must comply with all of the Pre-Match setup requirements, including the rule <G3> starting size constraint.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by FTC5501
                          Subject: <G3> Robot Starting Volume - Inadvertent Jewel arm movement during pre-Match set up.

                          Question:
                          We know that we are not allowed to extend anything from our robot outside of the 18" requirement to line our robot up with the jewels. However, if during placement of our robot the jewel arm were to fall, are we allowed to notify the referee, pick the robot up and replace it on the balancing stone?

                          Answer: Yes.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Originally posted by FTC12971
                            Subject: Using Vuforia during Robot Set Up on the Playing Field

                            Question:
                            During setup, may a team run the Vuforia concept opmode to be sure the camera is aligned such that the camera "sees" the pictograph?

                            Answer: Yes, provided that the action does not delay the start of the Match. Drive Teams that unnecessarily delay the beginning of a Match will incur a Minor Penalty for each offense per rule <G2>.

                            Heads-up from the Game Design Committee: There are no rules that state the Pictographs are to remain on the Playing Field from the previous Match for the next Match setup. This may be the case at some events, while others may choose to remove the pictographs as part of field reset.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Originally posted by FTC12676
                              Subject: <G2> Pre-Match Robot Setup - Using the Playing Field Wall during pre-Match Robot setup.

                              Question:
                              This is a follow up question to post #4 in the "Pre-Match - Answers" thread. May the Drive Team initialize the robot (i.e., Press Init on Driver Station) while the robot is aligned with the perimeter wall and then pick up the robot and place it on a balancing stone in an initialized condition with the opmode already selected and wait for match to start? Is this assumption correct? To be clear, we don't have tp press initialize again on balancing stone right?

                              Answer: Yes, the Drive Team may place the Robot on the Playing Field Floor, select the OpMode, and initialize the Robot before it is placed onto the Balancing Stone. The Robot's software may remain in this state, waiting for the Match to start. There is no need for the Drive Team to start over by selecting an OpMode and initializing the Robot a second time after it is placed onto the Balancing Stone.

                              Caution: Everyone on the Drive Team needs to be aware that the Robot is energized and ready for the Match to start while it is moved onto the Balancing Stone. The Drive Team needs to be careful not to accidentally press the start button on the Driver Station while the Robot is transitioning from the Playing Field Floor onto the Balancing Stone. A member of the Drive Team should "guard" the Driver Station start button so that it is not accidentally activated.

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X