Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Scoring - Answers

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Scoring - Answers

    Official Answers to questions about Scoring can be found here.

  • #2
    Originally posted by FTC12611
    Subject: <G20> Scoring Elements in Contact with Robots

    Question: At the end of the autonomous or driver-controlled periods, if the glyph is IN the Cryptobox column, but it's still touching robot arms or bumpers, does it count?

    Answer: The answer that you seek is found in rule <G20>, Scoring Elements in Contact with Robots. A Glyph in a Cryptobox that is touching a Robot on the corresponding Alliance does not count as Scored.

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by FTC12611
      Subject: Section 1.4 Glyph Scoring - Does the location of the Glyph between the Cryptobox Rails or the 2-Inch wide strip of tape determine if a Glyph is Scored?

      Question: If some portion of the glyph is passed the 2" tape, but not inside the tips of the cryptobox columns due to the tips are separated from the tape caused by the perimeter wall bending, does it count as scored?

      Answer: The Glyph described in the question does not count as Scored because it is not located between the Cryptobox Rails.

      From the Game Manual Part 2, Section 1.4, a Glyph is considered Scored when any part of the Glyph is between two Cryptobox Rails and is not in contact with a Robot of the corresponding Alliance. The 2-inch wide strip of tape is a visual aid to help determine if a Glyph is between the Rails. The strip of tape is an effective aid only if the tips of the Cryptobox Rails are aligned with the tape.

      Warning from the Game Design Committee: The strategy of moving the Playing Field Wall with the Intent to de-Score Glyphs from the opposing Alliance Cryptobox is Egregious Behavior and rule <G27> consequences will apply.

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by FTC1999
        Subject: Cryptobox Glyph capacity

        Question: How many Glyphs can be scored legally into the Cryptobox at a time?

        Answer: The maximum possible number of Scored Glyphs in a Cryptobox is twelve; additional Glyphs in a Cryptobox that satisfy the criteria for Scored have zero Score value.

        Bonus Answer: For the Glyph Hoarding rule, <GS4>, twelve Glyphs completely fill a Cryptobox.

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by FTC9761
          Subject: Section 1.5.4 End Game - Robot Balanced on a Balancing Stone for the entire Match

          Question: If a robot never moves during a match and is thus still balanced on the balancing stone at the end of the match, are the 20 points still awarded for being balanced on the balancing stone at end game?

          Answer: Yes.
          Last edited by Buzz; 11-06-2017, 04:50 PM.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by FTC13259
            Subject: <G20> Scoring Elements in Contact with Robots

            Question: A robot, at the end of the match, is touching a glyph stack (3 high) - the upper glyph is not in the cryptobox but the lower glyph is in the cryptobox. The upper glyph is in contact with the robot. Is the bottom glyph "legal" to be scored? It is in the cryptobox and not touched by the robot.

            Answer: Yes, Glyphs in the Cryptobox that are not in contact with a Robot on the same Alliance as the Cryptobox are eligible to be counted as Scored.

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by FTC7043
              Subject: <G13> Recording the Scores After Objects come to Rest

              Question:
              At the end game we have an arm that simply drops the relic from just over the wall edge for either 10 or 25 points. Sometimes the relic rolls to a higher scoring zone. It is not shot, launched, or flicked. Would we get points for additional points for ending up in the additional zone?

              Answer: The answer that you seek is found in rule <G13>. The final Score will be recorded once all Scoring Elements have come to rest. The Relic will be Scored based on its location after it has come to rest In a Recovery Zone.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by FTC9978
                Subject: Robot On a Balancing Stone and in contact with the Playing Field Floor

                Question:
                If a robot is balanced on the balancing stone before the end of the match and an arm or part of the robot is touching the mat, is it considered not balanced since not all of the robot is off the game floor?

                Answer: Correct, a Robot contacting the Playing Field Floor is not Balanced on the Balancing Stone.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by FTC7026
                  Subject: How to determine the Score of a single Glyph that occupies two Glyph slots in a Column

                  Question:
                  If there is exactly one Glyph at an angle inside a column - that is, one part is in the bottomost row and the upper part is in the row above, is it scored as two Glyphs or scored as one Glyph?

                  Answer: The Glyph earns a single Glyph Score, 15-points for the Autonomous Period and/or 2-points for the Driver Controlled Period as appropriate. The Glyph also contributes concurrently towards completing two Rows.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by FTC12611
                    Subject: <G20> Scoring Elements in Contact with Robots - Relic

                    Question:
                    According to the game manual part 2, "Relics that remain upright In the Recovery Zone (bottom surface is the only part of the Relic that is in contact with the Relic Recovery Zone) earn an additional fifteen (15) points per Relic."

                    Our question is: Does a Relic held by a claw from top or side with only bottom in contact with Recovery Zone mat earn 15 points? Or Relic has to be standing on it own?

                    Answer: The answer that you seek is found in the Game Manual Part 2, rule <G20>. "Scoring Elements in a Scoring Area that are in contact with a Robot on the corresponding Alliance for the Scoring Area have zero Score value when Score Trackers record the Score at the end of the Autonomous and Driver-Controlled Periods." The Relic described in the question has zero Score value because it is in contact with a Robot of the corresponding Alliance.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by FTC7253
                      Subject: Rule <G20> Scoring Elements in Contact with Robots - Glyph Possessed by a Robot contacting a Glyph in a Cryptobox

                      Question:
                      I know that the game manual indicates that a glyph in the cryptobox that is in contact with a robot does not count as scored. Does a glyph count as scored when it is in the cryptobox and is in contact with, but not supported by a glyph possessed by a robot?

                      Answer: This scenario is indirect Robot Contact with a Glyph that is in a Cryptobox. For the purposes of <G20> assessment, Referees will consider indirect contact to be transitive to another Scoring Element if and only if there is also clear Control or Support. In your example, the Glyph in the Cryptobox would remain in the Cryptobox if the contact with the Glyph Possessed by the Robot were removed. The Glyph in the Cryptobox is counted as Scored because it is not Supported or Controlled by the Glyph Possessed by the Robot.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by FTC7253
                        Subject: <G9> Stopping Game Play Late - Glyph released at the end of the Autonomous Period

                        Section 1.5.2 states: The Autonomous Score is based on the number and locations of Glyphs placed in Cryptoboxes during the Period, the state of the Jewels, and location of the Robots at the end of the Period after all Game Elements and Robots have come to rest.

                        <G9> states that a minor penalty can be assessed and elements are not scored for actions after the end of autonomous, however, elements that are launched prior to the end are eligible.

                        Question: If, a robot is holding a glyph at the end of the autonomous period, and the end-of-autonomous shutdown of servo control results in the glyph being dropped, will it count as scored and will a penalty be assessed if the glyph falls into the cryptobox? This shutdown is coincident with the end of the 30s timer.

                        Answer: The Glyph is eligible to be counted as Scored and no Penalty should be assessed if the action complies with the rule <G9> "one second grace period following the end of period game sound" stipulation. If the Glyph is eligible to be counted as Scored, it will count as Scored if it satisfies the "Glyph Scoring" requirements in Section 1.4 of the Game Manual Part 2 and the "Scoring Elements in Contact with Robots" rule, <G20>.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by FTC10529
                          Subject: Section 1.5.3 Driver-Controlled Period Scoring - Glyph previously Scored during the Autonomous Period

                          Question:
                          Is a glyph scored during the autonomous period also scored at the end of driver-controlled period where each glyph in the Cyrptobox is 2 points.

                          Answer: The answer that you seek is in the Game Manual Part 2, Section 1.5.3:

                          "The Driver-Controlled Score is based on the number of Glyphs Scored into the Cryptoboxes, the state of the Cipher pattern in each Cryptobox, and the locations of the Relics and Robots at the end of the Match after all Game Elements and Robots have come to rest."

                          Yes, a Glyph that is Scored in the Cryptobox during the Autonomous Period will contribute towards the Driver-Controlled Score if it satisfies the requirements for a Scored Glyph at the end of the Match.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Originally posted by FTC9794
                            Subject: <G13> Recording the Scores During the Match/After Objects Come to Rest - Glyph De-scored from a completed Cypher

                            Question:
                            If an alliance completes a cipher and the referee indicates it as scored, then a glyph from the cipher is descored, does the alliance still receive the 30 points for completing a cipher?

                            Answer: The answer that you seek is in the Game Manual Part 2, Section 1.5.3 and rule <G13>.

                            Section 1.5.3: "The Driver-Controlled Score is based on the number of Glyphs Scored into the Cryptoboxes, the state of the Cipher pattern in each Cryptobox, and the locations of the Relics and Robots at the end of the Match after all Game Elements and Robots have come to rest.

                            Rule <G13>: ". . . At the conclusion of the Match, the final Score will be recorded once all elements have come to rest."

                            The Alliance does not earn 30-points for the Cypher because it is not complete at the end of the Match.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Originally posted by FTC9794
                              Subject: <GS6> De-scoring Glyphs; Starting Relic Scoring early after completing a Cypher

                              Question:
                              An alliance scores a cipher before endgame and receives a signal from the referee that it is a legal cipher and they can score the relic early. A member of the alliance proceeds to score the relic early and a glyph in the cipher is descored while a robot is placing the early relic before endgame has begun, are there any penalties incurred?

                              Answer: The answer that you seek is found in the Game Manual Part 2, rule <GS6>: "Robots may not remove or re-position Glyphs from their opposing Alliance's Cryptoboxes. . . Robots are allowed to remove or re-position Glyphs from their own Alliance's Cryptoboxes.

                              No Penalty is assessed if the Glyph is De-scored by a Robot from the corresponding Alliance for the Cryptobox.

                              A Double Major Penalty will be assessed for every Glyph illegally removed or re-position from a Cryptobox by an opposing Alliance Robot.

                              No Penalty is assessed for Scoring the Relic before the start of the End Game and the Relic remains eligible to be counted as Scored because the Referee signaled that a Relic was eligible to be Scored early.
                              Last edited by Buzz; 01-17-2018, 08:26 PM.

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X