Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Game Play - All Match Periods - Answers

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Game Play - All Match Periods - Answers

    Official Answers to questions about Game Play can be found here.

  • #2
    Originally posted by FTC12841
    Subject: <GS3> Glyph Control/Possession Limit - Pushing against a stack of Scored Glyphs in a Cryptobox.

    Question: If Glyphs are scored into the Crytobox, but not Completely in, would pushing against the stack of scored glyphs for re-alignment be classified as controlling more than 2?


    Answer: The robot action described in the question is allowed. Pushing against Scored Glyphs does not count towards the Glyph Control/Possesion limit described in rule <GS3>. Rule <GS3> does apply to Glyphs in the stack that have not been Scored.
    Last edited by Buzz; 09-28-2017, 02:06 PM. Reason: Added a subject title.

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by FTC13127
      Subject: Performing an Alliance Partner's game objectives.

      Question: Is it possible to do my alliance partner's objectives? For example, can a robot do their alliance partner's cryptobox key, or put glyphs into their cryptobox?

      Answer: Yes, Alliance specific Game Elements (Cryptoboxes, Jewel Sets, Relics, Safe Zones, Balancing Stones, and the Relic Recovery Zone) are shared between the two Teams on an Alliance. Robots are allowed to perform Scoring tasks using any of their Alliance's game elements.

      Game Design Committee Hint: Before Drive Teams and their Robots enter the queue for a Match, Alliance Parter Teams should work together and agree to a game strategy, Robot placement on the Balancing Stones, etc.
      Last edited by Buzz; 09-28-2017, 02:08 PM. Reason: Added a subject title.

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by FTC10251
        Subject: <GS3> Control/Possession Limits of Glyphs

        Question:
        How strictly will the Glyph possession and control be interpreted? In the definition of Control on page 10 of the game manual it includes: Herding

        Answer: There is no free pass for violating the Glyph Control/Possession rule, <GS3>. A Robot that Controls or Possesses three or more Glyphs will be penalized as described in rule <GS3>. See section 1.4 in the Game Manual Part 2 for definitions of Control and Possess. It is the intent of the Game Design Committee to include Herding as an example of Controlling Glyps that counts towards the two Glyph Control/Possession limit.

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by FTC10251
          Subject: <GS3> Control/Possession Limits of Glyphs

          Question: If a robot has a claw to grab Glyphs by their side and is trying to grab a Glyph that is surrounded by other Glyphs and the claw pushes the surrounding Glyphs out of the way, does the motion of the non-target Glyphs count towards the two Glyph Control/Possession limit?

          Answer: In this scenario, the non-target Glyphs do not count towards the two Glyph Possession/Control limit because the Robot's intent is not to move the non-target Glyphs to gain a strategic advantage. The movement of the non-target Glyphs is Inconsequential because the Robot is simply nudging Glyphs out of the way to enable access to a Glyph that it would like to Possess.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by FTC12773
            Subject: <GS3> Control/Possession Limits of Glyphs - Scored Glyphs in a Cryptobox

            Question: If a robot lifts all or part of a column of glyphs that have already scored in the cryptobox to create space for a new glyph, will that be a violation of GS3? The robot will be bringing 2 new glyphs, so if it lifts a column of 3 glyphs inside the cryptobox, it will have 5 in its possession. In other words, can controlling/possessing glyphs that have already scored in the cryptobox lead to a GS3 violation?

            Answer: The Robot action described in the question is allowed. Manipulating Scored Glyphs In a Cryptobox does not count towards the Glyph Control/Possesion limit described in rule <GS3>. Glyphs that are not currently in a Scored state do count towards rule <GS3> constraints if they are Controlled or Possessed by a Robot.

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by FTC9779
              Subject: <GS10> Controlling or Blocking access to Relics - Purposefully causing the opposing Alliance Relic to fall over.

              Question: Rule GS10 clearly states that robots may not control an opposing alliance's Relic. "Control/Controlling" is defined in Game Manual Part 2 as "following the movement of the robot". It goes further to include "Herding" as controlling and defines Herding as "pushing or impelling Game Elements to a desired location or direction that gains a strategic advantage beyond moving the Robot around the field."

              With this in mind, if a red alliance robot purposefully bumps or touches a blue alliance's Relic causing it to fall over, is this considered "Controlling"? The Relic is not following the movement of the robot, but the red alliance has obtained a strategic advantage by pushing or impelling a Game Element to a desired location.

              Answer: The action described in the question is Herding and a violation of rule <GS10> if, in the judgement of the Referees, the action is intentional.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by FTC12611
                Subject: Definition of Left, Center and Right Cryptobox Columns

                Question: We could not find any definition of the direction of Crytobox columns, namely LEFT/CENTER/RIGHT, in the game manual 2. Do all the columns have predefined direction or it depends on the direction of Robot travels.

                Answer: The "Left," "Center," and "Right" Column identifiers are shown in the illustrations in Appendix D of the Game Manual Part 2.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by FTC9765
                  Subject: <G13> and <G20> Clarification

                  Q: Game Manual Part 2 Section 1.5.5, and Rules <G13> & <G20> reference "Referee scoresheets" and "referee records the Score", etc.. Please update this to recognize our new "Score Tracker" position. Thanks!
                  A: Thank you for the feedback. An update to the Game Manual Part 2 will be posted to the Game Page today with this change. https://www.firstinspires.org/resour...nd-season-info

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by FTC9978
                    Subject: <S2> Robot Extension Outside the Playing Field Perimeter - Attempting to Possess a Relic

                    Question: What is the penalty if a robot extends beyond the outside perimeter side wall but does not contact anything while attempting to possess a relic? Rule <S2> says "Robot extension Outside the Playing Field is not permitted, except as allowed by game-specific rules listed in Section 1.6.3" This looks like "intentional" since it's not by accident and can be repeated over again with the same results, verses climbing back onto the stone and accidentally swiping part of the robot outside the perimeter wall.

                    Answer: You are correct, a Robot design that requires a part to extend outside the Playing Field while attempting to possess a Relic is Intentional in the context of rule <S2>.

                    Intentional Robot extension outside the Playing Field Perimeter while attempting to Possess a Relic is not permitted by rule <S2>. The consequences of violating Rule <S2> is a Yellow Card and the Robot may be Disabled immediately for the remainder of the Match.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by FTC12611
                      Subject: <G20> Scoring Elements in Contact with Robots

                      Question: At the end of the autonomous or driver-controlled periods, if the glyph is IN the Cryptobox column, but it's still touching robot arms or bumpers, does it count?

                      Answer: The answer that you seek is found in rule <G20>, Scoring Elements in Contact with Robots. A Glyph in a Cryptobox that is touching a Robot on the corresponding Alliance does not count as Scored.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by FTC9835
                        Subject: Intentionally positioning Glyphs to Block opposing Alliance Robot Access to a Balancing Stone

                        Question:
                        A red alliance robot pushes glyphs onto the blue alliance side of the playing field, intentionally blocking the blue alliance robot from accessing the balancing stone. Is this a legal strategy?

                        Answer: Use of game elements in a manner to make scoring activities for the opposing alliance more difficult should be viewed by referees as egregious behavior. Rule <G27> should be applied as extended below (with the additional bold example of egregious behavior).

                        <G27> Egregious Behaviour - Egregious Robot or Team member behavior at the Playing Field, as determined by the referees, will result in a Major Penalty and issuance of a Yellow Card and/or Red Card. Subsequent violations will result in Team Disqualification from the tournament. Egregious behavior includes, but is not limited to, repeated and/or flagrant violation of game rules, unsafe behavior or actions, use of game or field elements to amplify the difficulty of scoring activities, and uncivil behavior towards Drivers, Coaches, competition personnel, or event attendees..

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by FTC11897
                          Subject: Possessing or Controlling a Relic prior to the start of the End Game.

                          Question: Are Robots allowed to pick up and hold a Relic within the perimeter wall before the end game begins?

                          Answer: Yes, a Robot may Possess or Control one of their Alliance's Relics at any time during the Match.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Originally posted by FTC6209
                            Subject: <GS13> Preventing Relic Scoring - Interfering with an opposing Alliance Robot that is attempting to reposition a Relic in the Recovery Zone.

                            Question:
                            Red Robot legally scores one, or two Relics then leaves the Relic Recovery area, and does other scoring procedures. If Red Robot returns to the Relic Recovery zone latter to re-position the Relics, can Blue Robot nudge, push, or tap Red robot before it starts to control one of the scored Red Relics?

                            Answer: Prior to the Red Alliance Robot Possessing a Relic, the Blue Alliance Robot actions will likely be viewed by referees as violating the following rules as appropriate:

                            <S1> Unsafe Robot - Playing defense against a Robot that has extended outside the Playing Field Perimeter is not safe for nearby field personnel and the venue floor.

                            <G16> Destruction, Damage, Tipping,etc. - Playing defense against a Robot that is extended outside the Playing Field Perimeter may cause Robot damage, tipping, entanglement, etc.

                            <G17> Pinning, Trapping, or Blocking Robots

                            After the Red Alliance Robot Possesses a Relic and is within 24-inches of the Playing Field Perimeter Wall facing the Relic Recovery Zone, <GS13> comes into play.

                            The Game Design Committee highly recommends that Drive Teams do not play defense against a Robot that has extended outside the Playing Field Perimeter.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Originally posted by FTC8381
                              Subject: <G26> Match Replay - Glyph size outside the 0.25-inch size tolerance

                              Question:
                              If a glyph is found to be outside the glyph-size specification and this is discovered after a match, and impacted a match (jammed in a robot, fell out of a gripper, etc) what will occur? Is this a "field fault?"

                              Answer: The FIRST Tech Challenge has conducted Glyph size sample testing and consulted with the Glyph supplier to determine the updated Glyph size specification of +/- 0.25 inches in any direction. We are confident that there are no Glyphs outside the specified size range. In the unlikely event that an out of specification Glyph is discovered, the Match will not be replayed.

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X