Color Sensor Programming Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Color Sensor Programming Help

Hi, I'm really new to programming and I honestly don't know how to program the Modern Robotics color sensor. I've seen the example program on github, but I can't seem to figure out a way to put the data received from the color sensor into an if statement. My plan is to read the sensor and move a servo to a certain position depending on what color the sensor reads. Can anyone shed some light on how to write a program that does this?

Regards,
    Hasan
    Team 10598

We would like for our color sensor to do exactly what you want yours to do, but we can't figure it out either. Did anyone help you? If so, could you please post the code so we would have an example to use? Thanks.

Comment

You can get the RGB values from the sensor with colorSensor.red() (blue, green, or alpha). Then, these can be converted to values in the HSV color space, using Color.RGBToHSV(sensorRGB.red()*8, sensorRGB.green()*8, sensorRGB.blue()*8, hsvValues);. Here, hsvValues is an array. Different hue values (hsvValues[0] correspond to different colors. You can then check if the returned hue value fits in a range to be considered red or blue. Red is 0/360, and blue is 240.
      Lead programmer for team 6287, Vertigo

Comment

You don't necessarily need to convert to HSV values to use the sensor. I find it is easier to just use RGB values and to use a simple if or while statement. To figure out what value of RGB to use, this is a good site to play with http://www.rapidtables.com/web/color/RGB_Color.htm. You can also use the sample program to see what values are being received for what you want to sense.

For instance, if you were trying to move a servo to a certain position after seeing blue:

if/while (your color sensor.blue() >= 40){

//If the sensor reads a value of value of blue greater than or equal to 40

servo.setPosition(the position you want);