Early Partial Release of sample code.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Early Partial Release of sample code.

I've been coaching FTC since it officially began, and even though I've used LabVIEW all along, there have been enough version and template changes along the way to know that the sooner I can start learning the new system, the better I'll be able to teach it.

Now that the word is out about the new system, I'd like to encourage FIRST to make some early code releases available so that guys like me can get a head-start on the new system.

I'm a veteran programmer of 30 years, and although I've done extensive embedded C, C++ coding, I still find the concept of learning Android Studio and Java daunting. Not so much the language as the environment and whole mobile app concept.

I've installed Android Studio, ordered several books about using it, but all I have to work with is a clean slate. All programmers know the best way to learn is to do, but I have no idea where to start.
    What's relevant and what's not? I don't know.
    I'd rather not start down several unrelated paths. I really need a starter robot project... even a really bad one

So, even though the full FTC package is probably not finalized, some early project examples would go a long way towards getting mentors like me over our anxiety.

Kinda like a "Hello World" FTC robot project. Perhaps in a "Enter at your own rick" repository

I'd like to think that veterans like me could be an educational resource in our States for the new platform, but only if we can get up to speed in advance of the "wait till the last minute" group

Thanks for the consideration.

Phil.
    Very excited, but a little pensive.