Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #16
    Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

    Hi,

    We plan to use a "stick" extended from one side of the robot to clear debris away from our mountain entrance, so our robot can climb up. The action is simply to clear up the entrance, not for moving debris into any scoring zone or blocking opposing alliance's mountain entrance. If the robot has already had 5 debris in its basket, would this be a violation of <GS7>? Or it's an exception as long as the debris doesn't end up in our scoring area or blocking opposing alliance's mountain entry? Please advice. Thank you!

    Comment


    • #17
      Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

      If you are not possessing more than 5 debris at a time, can you pile debris in front of your opponents mt. zone, thus making it more difficult for the opponent to access their mt?

      Comment


      • #18
        Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

        We have looked through QA and have seen that we can transfer climbers from our own alliance to our robot to score them.

        1)Can we pick up and score the climbers of the opposing alliance for our team?

        2) Where are the climbers not preloaded supposed to be placed? At our last tournament they were tucked into a corner of the field where no one could get to them.

        Thanks

        Comment


        • #19
          Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

          I have a question about how the climbers can be placed in the robot. According to 1.5.1 Pre-Match section f: "Teams may pre-load up to two Climbers per Robot. The pre-loaded Climbers must be in contact with a single Robot and they may touch the Playing Field. Teams may elect not to pre-load some or all of their Climbers. Climbers that are not pre-loaded are placed by field personnel in a
          random location and orientation, lying flat, and Completely Inside the corresponding Alliance Floor Goal. ", is it allowed that the climbers can be placed outside the robot and the 18 inch guideline, but touching part of the robot and the Playing Field?

          Comment


          • #20
            Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

            At our last competition I saw teams attaching to the pull-up bar from the floor without being completely on the mountain during the end game. Several teams had a tape measure that reached the pull-up bar while on the floor during the end game - is that legal?

            I understand that you can pull yourself up the mountain using the churros any time before the end game as long as don't make contact with the lower cliff bar and the pull-up bar - correct?

            We were penalized for touching the lower cliff bar but not grasping or pulling on the lower cliff bar - was this penalty for touching correct?

            Thanks
            Team RoboSpike

            Comment


            • #21
              Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

              Sorry for another GS7 question.

              Our robot has a scoop that is designed to collect and hold only 5 pieces of debris. In Autonomous we would like our robot to drive towards to Rescue Beacon and collect 5 debris in the scoop, then using this full scoop plow the remaining debris out of the way until we arrive at the rescue beacon. When the scoop is moved for scoring the climbers into the rescue beacon it will only contain 5 debris.

              Q - Is it allowed to collect 5 debris in the scoop, then using that full scoop to plow the other debris out of the way, without incurring a GS7 penalty?

              Thank you!

              Team 8995

              Comment


              • #22
                Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

                Hi GDC,

                Our robot uses a lever arm such that during the end game the arm is extended between the top churros of the high zone, and is then actuated back toward the robot, which causes the robot to lift up off the low part of the ramp. The result is that the robot is resting on the top of the lowest churro, but is not touching the ramp below the first churro.

                Is this a legal 20 point end game resting position since we are not "on" the low part of the ramp? Our interpretation of the rules is that the top of the first churro is not a part of the low zone. Is this correct?

                thanks

                - The Lazybotts

                Comment


                • #23
                  Originally posted by FTC5501
                  I had asked a question previously about touching the cliff low bar or pull up bar before the end game but had 1 more clarifying question:

                  (This is all occurring before the 30 second end game) --> First we deploy a tape measure and grab onto the cliff high bar to pull us up the ramp. Next, we release from the cliff high bar and begin rotating our tape measure to extend it to the pull up bar to prepare ourselves for our lift in end game. In the process of releasing ourselves from the high bar and rotating towards the pull up bar we come in contact with the cliff low bar. Would this be considered an illegal action since the cliff low bar was being touched while we were in the process of preparing ourselves for a pull up before the end game?


                  This appears to be a duplicate scenario/question. See Post #128, Q&A #2 for the answer.

                  Comment


                  • #24
                    Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

                    Is it permitted, during game, to grasp the cliff low bar to pull the robot into the high zone and remain in contact with the cliff low bar at the end of the game? The contact with the cliff low bar at the end of the game would be necessary to remain in the high zone.

                    Comment


                    • #25
                      Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

                      If a robot is hanging from the pullup bar at the end of the match and no part of it is touching anything outside the Cliff Zone but it does not qualify for the Cliff Pull-up Bar achievement because it is either partially supported by the Cliff Low Bar or because it touched a Cliff Zone component before the End Game, does it receive any points for being Parked On the Mountain at the end of the game?

                      Comment


                      • #26
                        Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

                        Q1: If the robot is fully hanging at the end of the match but once controllers are put down and communications cut the robot no longer hangs, are the 80 points rewarded?
                        Q:2 Is it illegal for an alliance to block access to the opposing alliance’s mountain climbing area by accumulating debris in front of it?

                        Thank you!

                        Comment


                        • #27
                          Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

                          Could you clarify as to what it means for a climber to be pre-loaded? One understanding was that when the robot moves, the climbers have to move with the robot like they have to be in a cup. Another understanding was that the climbers could just be left leaning against the robot and be left in the starting area when the robot moves during autonomous.

                          Comment


                          • #28
                            Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

                            Hello GDC,

                            We have been watching a lot of live feeds from events and match replays of youtube, and have noticed several instances of inconsistent enforcement of <GS17> with regard to scoring in the mid and high goals.

                            Could you confirm that the robot wheels do in fact need to be above the buffer tape, and not "on" the buffer tape?

                            thank you

                            - The Lazybotts

                            Comment

                            Working...
                            X