Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

    The first time a question is asked, it will be posted, along with the answer, in the appropriate forum. Repeated questions will be posted here.

  • #2
    Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

    Hello.

    It seems to us that in the act of scoring debris in the mountain goals, some debris is likely to end up on the opposing alliance mountain area given the ramp angle, churros, angled goals, etc. As a result, a "missed load" of debris could even prevent the opposing alliance from getting up to the mid, high or cliff zone in the end game. This could happen inadvertently, or on purpose. While purposeful debris dumping would be an unlikely approach for most teams, we would be concerned about how/if a referee could really decide the difference between inadvertent and deliberate dropped debris.

    Is debris ending up on the opposing alliance mountain area just an expected part of game play this year? Or are there any rules that would come into play?

    Thanks!

    Team 6705/Motorbolts

    Comment


    • #3
      Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

      The official Reply to a previous post states:
      <GS7> Debris Possession/Control Constraint
      Quote Originally Posted by FTC10131 View Post
      GS7 says "Plowing (bumping, moving, touching, etc.) Debris located on the Playing Field floor is allowed and does not count towards the five Debris Possession/Control constraint if the movement of the Debris is not purposeful. Debris will be scattered around the Playing Field and some interaction between Robots and Debris is expected and should not be Penalized, provided that the Robot is not deliberately Controlling the Debris."

      Say we have collected 5 pieces of debris and are now moving towards one of our Mountains, and we find 10 pieces of debris lying in our way on the floor at the base of our Mountain. May we push the floor debris out of the way to clear a path to our Mountain if the moving of the floor debris serves no other purpose other than clearing the path? This would require "deliberately Controlling the Debris" by pushing or plowing it, and it would be "purposeful" (to clear the path at base of the Mountain), and thus we would be temporarily "controlling" the 5 pieces of collected debris plus extra debris on the floor. We are hoping this type of purposeful motion would be allowed without resulting in a penalty.

      A: No, the action described in the question is an example of deliberate Control of Debris and it is not allowed in accordance with rule <GS7>.

      This would make the game almost unplayable
      All a team would have to do is deposit debris below the mountain ramps of the other team to force the other team to get penalties. Can you please clarify. Shouldn't "Deliberate Control" mean that we are doing something (plowing, holding, lifting) with the intent of scoring the debris being controlled? If you go by the ruling, bunched up debris (blocks) on the floor could easily exceed 5 in number without the intent of the team actually scoring (if any movement of the debris by the robot is considered deliberate control as is implied by your ruling.

      Comment


      • #4
        Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

        Recently in the "Forum Answered Questions PDF" , team 6932 had asked the question "During the autonomous period, can autonomous climbers be collected from your alliance partner and all 4 climbers be scored by one robot?". They were given the response "Yes, Climbers are allowed to be transferred between Alliance Partner Robots and all four Climbers are allowed to be Scored in a Shelter by one Robot."

        Our question is: How may the Climbers be transferred? Can all four climbers be given to one team before the match to be loaded onto the robot? Or must the robots themselves transfer the Climbers during the match?

        Comment


        • #5
          Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

          Hello! We have a question about the nature of Game Manual Part 2 that was brought to our attention at a scrimmage this past weekend.

          We were wondering about the random scattering of debris at the beginning of each match. According to Game Manual Part 2, section 1.5.3, paragraph three, "Debris In a Floor Goal will remain in place." We noticed that at our scrimmage, the initial random placement of debris determined the outcome of at least one game, rather than autonomous or teleop efforts. We think there is a possibility of having this issue in higher scoring matches as well. Due to the fact that debris is randomized, we wonder if the intent of the rule is to allow luck to be the reason a team wins at the world level. Shouldn't intital field setup include removing debris not scored by a team?

          Thank you!
          FTC Team 4290

          Comment


          • #6
            Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

            Hey GDC! We just had a quick question pertaining to Autonomous period.
            Is a robot on the Red alliance allowed to climb up the Blue portion of the mountain in Autonomous for points? This would allow both Red robots to climb up on the mountain without having to park one behind the other.

            Thanks!

            --
            MOE 365 FTC

            Comment


            • #7
              Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

              Hello,

              At our first League meet, our head Referee was allowing teams to plow through, and or posses more than 5 debris items. I am wanting to confirm this is legal to design a robot to control and or move a bunch of debris items at the same time.

              Comment


              • #8
                Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

                When we are hanging without motor current our robot starts to fall down. We are wondering if we can just put the gamepad down and stop moving the robot instead of stopping the program when teleop ends so we can keep a small motor current on the motors and not slide down.
                Thanks! - Team 8686

                Comment


                • #9
                  Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

                  We see no mention of what is to be done when debris from the dispersal end up in scoring zones. We frequently see some scoring before most matches have begun, and sometimes it has been a significant number. We have also have seen a remarkable number of matches won/lost by a few points over the years. We assume that the debris are not to be removed from the scoring zone, but would hate to see matches decided by a coin toss, so are just asking for clarification if debris should or should not be removed from the scoring zones before a match begins.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

                    Regarding <GS9> "Blocking Access:" Is the rule specific to robots themselves blocking access to the climbing area or does it extend to debris as well? I.e., can a robot move debris in front of an opposing alliance's mountain in order to raise the difficulty that its opponents will have in climbing the mountain? My reading of the final sentence ("A ROBOT in an opposing alliance climbing area... is blocking access and it will be penalized") leads me to believe that debris is allowed, particularly as the debris could be moved by the opposing alliance and could therefore be viewed more as a hindrance and a delay rather than an outright blockade like a robot would be.

                    FTC8133

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

                      So our team uses a winch to pull ourselves up the mountain, but the problem is that when the game ends, we are forced to stop the program and our motor loses energy and our robot slides down to the high zone. We were wondering if it is possible to leave the program on so we can keep the holding force on, and just not move the robot at all. Thanks!
                      -Team 8686

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

                        Hello,
                        We have seen in many YouTube videos teams that manually stop their autonomous program from the driver station if something goes wrong or to keep the robot from running into a wall. Is this legal?
                        Thanks,
                        Team 3188

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

                          Hello, our team has a question regarding Cliff Pull Up in the End game section 1.5.4.

                          Given the following per the rules
                          1. The definition of A Robot Fully Supported is that an object is bearing all the weight of the robot
                          2. A Robot Fully Supported (i.e. hanging) by the Cliff Pull-up Bar earns eighty points for its Alliance (1.5.4)
                          3. A robot may rest on the cliff low bar (1.5.4)

                          Is statement 2 not contradictory with statement 3, and Does "Robot Fully Supported" in statement 2's context mean if the condition that the robot would not fall with the low cliff bar removed is met, then points will be awarded?

                          Thank you!

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

                            Does a robot that's hanging on the top of the mountain and touching the last churro but clearly supporting its own weight count as "hanging"?

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Duplicate Questions - Game Rules

                              I'm unclear on whether or not a robot can be in contact with the vertical support bars on the side of the mountain when hanging. In the rules, it states "Robots may touch the Cliff Vertical Divider, rest against the Cliff Low Bar." I interpret this to mean that a robot can touch the vertical bar in the center(divider), but not the support bars on the sides. If a robot is fully supported by the Pull Up bar, but is resting against the side support bars, is it still considered a full hang?

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X