Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Game Rules and Game Play - Answer Thread

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #61
    Robot Alignment Device

    Originally posted by FTC7337
    This is a follow-up question to this post:
    Originally posted by FTC7337
    http://ftcforum.usfirst.org/showthre...ull=1#post8342

    Q: Can an alignment device be used if it meets all five of these constraints:

    1. It is permanently attached to the robot
    2. It fits completely inside the 18" cube when not deployed
    3. It extends beyond the 18" cube during the pre-match robot setup ONLY
    4. It is extended manually by the drivers (does not require power, remote control or autonomous control)
    5. It is returned to within the 18" cube by the drivers prior to the "hands-off" instruction from the referee.
    A: No, 3, 4, and 5 violate rule <G1> because the alignment device extends beyond the 18" cube.
    Last edited by Mac McHale; 12-04-2013, 12:01 PM. Reason: Corrected format.

    Comment


    • #62
      Alignment/Measurment during setup for autonomous period

      Originally posted by FTC6054
      During the setup for the autonomous period, are you allowed to align your robot using measuring devices such as a yardstick, level, t-square or similar device?

      A: No, according to Rule <G1>: Alignment devices are allowed only if they are constructed from legal components and they remain within the starting volume constraint.

      Comment


      • #63
        When can we run the Robot Initialization Routine?

        Originally posted by FTC5405
        We have a question about when we can run the Robot Initialization Routine.
        We understand that the robot must be 18x18x18 to pass inspection and when placed on the field to start a match.
        Can we run the Robot Initialization Routine prior to the start of the timed autonomous period or only after it has begun?
        Thank you.

        A: Assuming it is programmed to do so, the Robot Initialization routine is run at the start of autonomous period prior to the robots waiting for the match to begin. It is not an automatic procedure and teams will have to put their own code into the initialization routine.

        The purpose of the Robot Initialization routine is outlined in Robot Rule <RG04>b. It may NOT be used for any other purpose. After the Robot Initialization routine is run for the Autonomous Period, the robot must still be withing the 18x18x18 size restriction (i.e. the initialization cannot cause the robot to grow bigger).
        Last edited by Short Round; 12-09-2013, 06:34 PM.

        Comment


        • #64
          Double Hanging in the End Game

          Originally posted by FTC6543
          In most cases, during the End Game period, two alliance teams usually cooperate by doing different end game tasks. One hangs on a bar, and another raises a flag. The alliance's highest possible score is to gain 85 points, 35 from raising a flag to its full height, and 50 from hanging from the bar. But what happens when both alliance teams have their robots both hang on the bar together? How many points would be earned? Could the alliance earn 100 points, 50 for each robot?

          A: As long as both robots are hanging in their own side of the bridge, they would earn 50 points each (for a total of 100 points).

          Comment


          • #65
            Multiple robots hang and &lt;GS7&gt; violation

            Originally posted by FTC5873
            In the scenarios below, there are two robots (A and B), on the same Alliance hanging from the Pull-Up Bar at the end of the Match. Please advise on the scoring (if any) and the number of major penalties for the Alliance under these scenarios:
            1) Robot A is Completely Inside the Alliance's Hanging Zone. Robot B encroaches on the opposing Alliance's Hanging Zone and violates <GS7> (technically, robot B is not Hanging because it does not satisfy all the constraints in the definition of Hanging).
            2) Both A and B violate <GS7>. Obviously there is no scoring, but are two penalties assessed or just one?
            3) Scenario 1, except that robot B does not contact the Pull-Up Bar directly, but is instead being lifted by robot A, which is contacting the Pull-Up Bar.
            4) Scenario 3, except that robot A is encroaching and and the lifted robot (B) is Completely Inside the Hanging Zone.


            By encroaching, I'm assuming the robot has extended beyond the buffer zone and is hanging with a portion of the robot extended into the opposing alliance Hanging Zone.

            A1) Robot A earns 50 points (assuming it is hanging). Robot B gets a Major Penalty for Hanging Interference.
            A2) Both robots would receive a Major Penalty for Hanging Interference.
            A3) Robot B would receive a Major Penalty. Robot A would earn 50 points for a legal hang
            A4) Robot A would receive a Major Penalty and Robot B would be earn 50 for a legal hang.
            Last edited by Short Round; 12-30-2013, 01:49 PM.

            Comment


            • #66
              Autonomous Programming

              Originally posted by FTC7785
              We just want to confirm that we are allowed to change our autonomous program between matches. We want to have multiple programs ready to use based on what our various alliance partners do.

              A: Yes, you may change your programs between matches. However, the programming and any re-downloading to the NXT must be done in the pit area and not in the queuing line or on the field before the match starts.

              Comment


              • #67
                Autonomous Block Removal at End of Autonomous

                Originally posted by FTC4211
                Q1: If the Autonomous Block is not scored during the Autonomous Period will it be removed from the robot before Tele-Op begins?

                Q2: If the Autonomous Block becomes caught/trapped inside the robot during Autonomous can teams ask the Referees to remove the block before Tele-Op begins?

                Thanks!!

                A1: No.
                A2: No.
                Last edited by Short Round; 12-09-2013, 06:00 PM.

                Comment


                • #68
                  Effects of Failed Double Hang

                  Originally posted by FTC6124
                  These questions pertain to the following situation: a robot is hanging and then its alliance partner comes on the bridge and attempts a "double hang" on their alliance side of the bridge but fails to complete the double hang.

                  If the first robot is hanging but is in contact with its alliance partner which is still supported by the bridge, does the first robot receive the 50 point bonus? If the first robot is hanging and the second robot pushes the first robot so it swings away from its initial hanging position but the first robot remains leaning against the second robot (but would be fully supported by the bar if the second robot were removed), does the first robot receive the 50 point hanging bonus? I guess these questions come down to the definition of "supported" in the definition of Hanging which says that a robot "must be supported solely by the Pull Up Bar".

                  Touching a robot on the same alliance that is not hung or has failed to hang has the effect of negating the original hang. The only exception to this rule is if the original hanging robot is in contact with a robot from the opposing alliance (as stipulated in the definition of "Hanging").

                  Comment


                  • #69
                    Autonomous question

                    Originally posted by FTC5499
                    "<GS2> Robots may not make contact with an opposing Alliance’s Pendulum unless they are in the act of Scoring in that
                    Pendulum (see restriction in <GS3>). Violations will result in a Major Penalty per occurrence. Contact that is
                    determined by the Referees to be Inadvertent and Inconsequential will not result in a Penalty."

                    The idea for a strategy is to move on to the ramp and score a cube in a very swift manor and while on the ramp lower one side of the opposing alliance pendulum during the autonomous phase only and then during the telop immediately remove our mechanism to move the opposing alliance pendulum and never touch it again during the telop phase.
                    Is this allowed?

                    A: If the cube is being scored into the opposing alliance's pendulum goal, then this strategy is legal assuming that the team runs out of time to remove their mechanism from the pendulum to not incur the penalty. However, if it is determined that they are not scoring a block or they are finished scoring a block and they remain on the pendulum goal, then they will incur a Major Penalty.

                    Comment


                    • #70
                      Items in Alliance Station

                      Originally posted by FTC7337
                      Are there restrictions on what items the two drivers and/or one coach may possess inside the Alliance Station during the match? We are wondering about things such as note card reminders that list strategy options, program names, pre-game and post-game checklists, stopwatches for time management, etc. All items would be held or worn (neck lanyard, pin, etc.) by one of the three team members.

                      A: Other than electronic communication devices and other items that would violate a Safety Rule, a team may possess any item inside the Alliance Station.

                      Comment


                      • #71
                        Rule &lt;G1&gt; - Alignment Devices.

                        Originally posted by FTC5421
                        Post 60 in Game Rules and Gameplay asserts that a device made from a wire tie attached to the robot which could be rotated (outside of the sizing box) so as to measure the distance of a part of the robot to a field element would be illegal. This method of alignment has been historically legal- we've been advised to do it (and have done it) for years, and, as far as we're aware, it dates back to the beginnings of FTC. Thus, we'd like:
                        Q1: To confirm that <G1> prohibits these devices.
                        Q2: To verify that it is the GDC's current intent to eliminate this method of alignment.
                        A1: The referenced post correctly applies rule <G1>. Rule <G1> requires that alignment devices remain within the 18 inch cube starting volume at all times during setup (i.e. prior to the start of the match.)

                        A2: Yes, this is the intent of the Game Design Committee.

                        Comment


                        • #72
                          Rule &lt;GS1&gt; and the Floor Goal.

                          Originally posted by FTC7705
                          Q: When scoring in the floor goal, does it have the same exemption as the block zones? For example, we scored four blocks appropriately at the beginning of the match in the floor goal and then went back and gathered four more blocks. While trying to ensure that these four new blocks were completely inside the floor score zone, we pushed the previously scored blocks further in. The definition for scoring in that location is inside and not completely inside so we are wondering what the official ruling for this would be.
                          A: The Block scoring action described doesn't violate the intent of rule <GS1> and no penalty should be assessed. Intentionally de-scoring Blocks in this manner violates rule <GS1>.
                          Last edited by Mac McHale; 12-11-2013, 09:59 PM. Reason: Added a title.

                          Comment


                          • #73
                            De-secoring Blocks in the Floor Goal

                            Originally posted by FTC6552
                            Are teams penalized if you are discoring more than 4 blocks at a time from underneath score goal? Thank you.
                            The Block Possession and Control rule <GS1> is in play for de-scoring blocks from the Floor Goal. If the robot is controlling or possessing more than 4 Blocks a penalty will be assessed.

                            Comment


                            • #74
                              On the Bridge, On the Robot, or Both?

                              Originally posted by FTC3785
                              During autonomous, a robot drives up the bridge/platform and it is completely on the bridge. A second robot manages to drive on top of the first robot so that none of its wheels are touching the black wood. 3/4 if the robot is over the platform and the front wheels are resting on a robot that is completely on the platform. One back wheel is on the mat, the other back wheel is in the air and the front two wheels rest on a robot

                              Q: Is this a robot partially on the platform?
                              A: Yes, the described scenario satisfies the definition of "On" in section 1.3 of the game manual. The robot should earn 10-points for being On the Bridge. The Robot that is completely on the Bridge earns 20-points for the Alliance.

                              Comment


                              • #75
                                Smoking Motors - Disqualified or Disabled Robot?

                                Originally posted by FTC3785
                                If the volunteer field personnel turns off a robot that has a smoking a motor- i.e. the robot is stuck on blocks in a "corner" and stalls/smokes a DC motor.

                                Q: Is this "smoking motor" a dangerous situation that would get a DQ- or is a dangerous robot-DQ reserved for something that might be something more akin to tossing a part- flailing- dragging a broken xxxx. (might be dup question)
                                A: Smoking motors are not an intentional violation of a rule. The only consequence of the described scenario is a Disabled Robot, not a Disqualified Robot.

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X