Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Miscellaneous Game Questions - Answer Thread

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #61
    <GS10> Controlling an Opposing Alliance's Particle

    Originally posted by FTC8366
    Scenario: A red alliance robot goes behind the blue alliance cap ball while chasing red particles. The red alliance robot unintentionally picks up a blue particle that they did not see behind the cap ball in the process. Because the robot is beyond the view of the drivers (behind the cap ball), it takes 6 to 8 seconds for the team to realize that they picked up the blue particle and eject it.

    Question: How is rule <GS10> applied?

    Answer: The Drive Team should, if possible, immediately stop violating rule <GS10> upon receiving a warning from a referee. If the Robot has not stopped Controlling the opposing Alliance's Particle after a five second period following a warning from a referee has passed, the escalation path should be followed and a Major Penalty assessed. An additional Minor Penalty should be assessed for each additional five second period that the violation continues.

    Comment


    • #62
      &lt;GS10&gt; Controlling an Opposing Alliance's Particle

      Originally posted by FTC8045
      Question 1: During the driver-controlled period, it seems fairly consistent across tournaments that GS10 penalties are not given until the robot passes the 5 second control time period. Is this the same for the Autonomous period?

      Question 2: The response above includes "After the first Warning..." Does this mean that the first 5 second control in Autonomous/Teleop is just a warning? if not can you explain what is meant by the phase "After the first warning"?

      Question 3: We also note ruling http://ftcforum.usfirst.org/showthre...ll=1#post33777 applies here. The brief control of opponent's particles in order to access the beacons is allowed. Our interpretation here is that pushing an opponent's particles while driving towards the beacon is not controlling, is that correct?

      We'd appreciate a quick turnaround as our design window is rapidly shrinking! Thanks for the Challenge!

      Answer 1: Yes, in the Autonomous and Driver-Controlled periods, a referee will give a <GS10> warning to the Drive Team followed by a five second count before a Penalty is assessed. If the Robot has not stopped Controlling the opposing Alliance's Particle after a five second period following a warning from a referee has passed, the escalation path should be followed and a Major Penalty assessed. An additional Minor Penalty should be assessed for each additional five second period that the violation continues.

      Answer 2: See Answer #1.

      Answer 3: Yes, the Robot's action is not a violation of rule <GS10> if the intent demonstrated by the Robot is to play offense (i.e. interact with the Beacon).

      Comment

      Working...
      X