Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Miscellaneous Game Questions - Answer Thread

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #46
    <G16> Pinning, Trapping, or Blocking Robots - Access to a Beacon

    Originally posted by FTC7593
    Question: If we were to build a mechanism that extends horizontally in such a way as to push the buttons on both beacons on an alliance side at once, would the extension across the field count as blocking the beacon from the opposing alliance?

    Thanks.

    Answer: Yes, rule <G16> is violated if an opposing Alliance Robot attempts to access the Blocked Beacon.

    Comment


    • #47
      &lt;GS10&gt; Controlling an Opposing Alliance's Scoring Element- Particle Blocking a Beacon

      Originally posted by FTC0965
      Many robots have difficulty claiming beacons if there is a particle against the wall and directly in front of the beacon. There's plenty of precedent in matches that I've seen for pushing opposing alliance's particles out of the way to gain access to beacons. However, this might be considered deliberate control of the particles and not permitted under <GS10> ("plowing" specifies that the contact be inadvertent).

      Question 1: Can you confirm that such limited deliberate movement of opposing alliance's particles is permitted (as you have previously allowed momentarily pushing the opposing alliance's cap ball to gain access to particles)?

      Question 2: Does that equally apply to a robot whose motion sweeps the area in front of the beacon in autonomous.

      Question 3: As there is no restriction on the shape of a robot after the start of a match, does that permit extending an arm to sweep the area in front of the beacon, in driver controlled or in autonomous?

      Question 4: Does this allow an oscillating arm in front of the robot to knock particles out of the way?

      Thanks!

      Answer 1: A Robot may briefly Control an opposing Alliance's Particle to move it from blocking access to a Beacon.

      Answer 2: Yes.

      Answer 3: Yes.

      Answer 4: Yes.

      Comment


      • #48
        &lt;S1&gt; and &lt;G15&gt; - Damage Due to Robot-to-Robot Contact

        Originally posted by FTC6022
        Question: In a match, whose fault is it if a robot extends a fragile part outside of the expected boundaries of the robot that poses a potential entanglement risk and another robot unintentionally breaks it off trying to drive by the robot with the fragile part? What (if any) penalty would be assessed and to which robot? Thank you for your time!

        Answer: In general, Robots should be designed to withstand expected Robot-to-Robot contact and Robots should be operated so that they don't intentionally damage another Robot. Referees will determine if the Robot-to-Robot contact was inadvertent, intentional, avoidable, etc. and if the damaged Robot was an entanglement or safety risk. Appropriate consequences will be applied based on the Robot behaviors and risk factors. If the entanglement or damage is ruled to be deliberate or chronic, the offending Team will receive a Major Penalty and a Yellow Card.

        Comment


        • #49
          &lt;GS10&gt; Controlling or Blocking an Opposing Alliance's Scoring Elements - Particle

          Originally posted by FTC3848
          We seek clarification on <GS10> and the Miscellaneous Game Question - Answer Thread posts #9 and #16.

          Question 1: Are teams allowed to unintentionally and inadvertently possess Opposing Alliance Particles?

          Question 2: Are teams allowed to score those unintentionally and inadvertently possessed Particles in their own Vortex(s) without penalty and with reward?

          Scenario: A blue alliance robot launches a blue Particle at the blue Center Vortex. The Particle misses and lands in the launcher of an Opposing Alliance robot. That robot then launches the blue particle through their alliance’s red Center Vortex.

          Question 3: Is the Major Penalty under <GS10> assessed immediately and regardless of whether or not the control of the particle is inadvertent or on purpose?

          Question 4: Does the blue Particle count as Scored in the red Center Vortex?

          Thanks!

          Answer 1: No, per rule <GS10>.

          Answer 2: The opposing Alliance's Particle is eligible for Scoring and rule <GS10> consequences come into play because an opposing Alliance Particle is Possessed.

          Answer 3: Rule <GS10> applies to both intentional and Inadvertent Possession of a Particle. A warning without assessing a Penalty is issued for the first violation of rule <GS10>. Any following violations will receive a Major Penalty and an additional Minor Penalty assessed for every five seconds that the rule violation persists as described in rule <GS10>.

          Answer 4: Yes, per the description of Particle Scoring in section 1.5.3 of the Game Manual Part 2, the blue Particle in the scenario should count as Scored in the red Center Vortex.

          Comment


          • #50
            &lt;GS10&gt; &amp; &lt;G16&gt;-Pinning Robots and Blocking Access to an Opposing Alliance's Particle

            Originally posted by FTC12357
            Hi, I am from the team with the ball gathering minibot that is described in the Miscellaneous Game Questions - Answer Thread post #41. We are considering having our mainbot (the one with the shooter) park in the correct center vortex goal scoring location, then have the minibot bring the balls back to it.

            Question 1: Is there any rule preventing an opposing alliance team from just sitting in front of the mainbot sweeper for the entire game to prevent the minibot from giving balls to the mainbot?

            Question 2: If the answer to the above question is no, is there any rule the would prevent a fast, maneuverable robot from staying in front of a "normal" robots sweeper while they move around the field to prevent them from gathering any balls?

            Thanks!

            Answer 1: In general, the defensive Robot is not violating a rule. Rule <GS10> does not come into play because the main-bot via the mini-bot is Controlling or Possessing the affected Particles. Rule <G16> would come into play if the defensive Robot Pins or Traps the offensive Robot.

            Answer 2: A defensive Robot shadowing an offensive Robot as described in the question is Blocking Access to Particles, a violation of rule <GS10>. If the shadowing defensive Robot is deemed to be herding the Particles, they could also be guilty of rule <GS10> for control of opposing Alliance Game Elements.

            Comment


            • #51
              &lt;G16&gt; Pinning, Trapping, or Blocking Robots - Blocking Access to a Beacon

              Originally posted by FTC10353
              Scenario: During the autonomous period of several matches, a red alliance robot triggers both of their alliance's beacons to the correct color, before driving over to the opposing alliance's side of the field and parking in front of their beacon, inside the protected area. The protected area is the area defined by the soft foam floor tile (not including the tile connecting teeth) that contains the one-inch-wide strip of white gaffers tape.

              Question 1: Does this violate any rules?

              Question 2: Same as the scenario, except the blue alliance robot is in the protected area around the beacon before the red robot arrives. The red alliance robot pushes the blue alliance robot sideways away from the beacon and parks in front of the opposing alliance's beacon. Is this allowed?

              Question 3: Same as the scenario, except the blue alliance robot is in the protected area around the beacon before the red robot arrives. The red alliance robot pins the blue alliance robot against the playing field perimeter wall, preventing the blue alliance robot from triggering their beacon.


              Answer 1: The Red Alliance Robot's actions are allowed if a Blue Alliance Robot does not attempt to access the Blue Alliance Beacon that is Blocked by the Red Alliance Robot. Rule <G16> consequences come into play if the Blue Alliance Robot attempts to access the Blocked Beacon.

              Answer 2: Yes, the action is allowed if the Blue Alliance Robot is not attempting to drive back to access the Beacon while the Red Alliance Robot is inside the protected Area in front the Beacon. Rule <G16> is violated if the Blue Alliance Robot attempts to maneuver back to the Beacon and it is Blocked by a Red Alliance Robot that is In the protected Area in front of the Beacon.

              Answer 3: The Red Alliance Robot's actions violate rule <G16> for Pinning if the referee determines that it is a deliberate strategy. The Red Alliance Robot having performed this maneuver during several preceding Matches will influence the referee's determination of the Robot's intended strategy for the current Match.

              Comment


              • #52
                &lt;S1&gt; Unsafe Robot - Penalty for Speeding and &lt;T21&gt; Team Running During an Event

                Originally posted by FTC10841
                Question: Can a team be penalized for speeding?

                Answer: The game rules do not specifically restrict Robot speed. Rule <S1> consequences will come into play if a referee deems that a Robot's operation is unsafe.

                In the off chance that the question is about a Team speeding, for safety reasons, rule <T21> prevents Teams from running in the venue. Rule <G26> consequences for egregious behavior will come into play if Team representatives continue to "speed" in the venue after a warning is issued by a tournament official.

                Comment


                • #53
                  &lt;G15&gt; Destruction, Damage, Tipping, etc. - Beacon Damage

                  Originally posted by FTC5501
                  Question: At what point is bashing into a beacon considered a penalty?

                  I know there has been extreme emphasis in this case but it has never been specifically addressed as to whether teams need to have a mechanism to push the beacons or if bashing into them is a legal strategy.


                  Answer: Robot actions, not Robot design, determines if rule <G15> is violated while interacting with a Beacon. There is no Robot design that is immune from incurring rule <G15> consequences for overly aggressive interaction with a Beacon.

                  "Miscellaneous Game Questions - Answer Thread" post #33 addresses the "point that Bashing into a Beacon is considered a Penalty." This post states in part, that aggressive contact that causes significant flexing of the walls or moves/dislodges a Beacon will be considered field damage and Penalized according to <G15>.

                  Comment


                  • #54
                    &lt;GS10&gt; and &lt;G23&gt; - Disabled Robot Blocking Access to Particles

                    Originally posted by FTC9915
                    We had a scenario at a tournament, where all 5 red particles rolled to a corner of the perimeter, one of the blue alliance robots was disabled right in front of the corner, this essentially made all 5 red particles inaccessible.

                    Question: Is this just bad luck or is the blocking access to an opposing alliance's scoring elements rule violated?

                    Answer: Rule <G23> protects a Disabled Robot (whether referee induced or Robot failure) from receiving Penalties. Rule <GS10> consequences should not come into play if the referee determines that the Blue Alliance Robot is Disabled.

                    Comment


                    • #55
                      &lt;G16&gt; - Robot Playing Aggressive Defensive

                      Originally posted by FTC9915
                      Let's say a robot is designed to play only Cap Ball lifting at the end game, so for the one and half minutes in the match, this robot decided to play heavy defense, and kept chasing opponent robots, pushing, trapping, pinning them, to the degree that opponent robots could not play the game.

                      Question: Does this break any rule?

                      Answer: Drive Teams are allowed to engage their Robots in defensive strategies. Numerous rules constrain defensive actions performed by Robots. Drive Teams that play defense should have a thorough understanding of the rules that are most likely to come into play (e.g., <S1>, <G15>, <G16>, <G26>, <GS7>, <GS9>, <GS10>, <GS11>, <GS12>, <GS13>, and <GS14>).

                      Most of the example Robot actions in the question are addressed in rule <G16>. If a referee determines this rule is violated, the offending Alliance will receive a Minor Penalty for every five seconds that they are in violation. If a referee declares a Pinning, Trapping, or Blocking warning during the Match, the offending Robot(s) must move away at least 0.9 m (3 feet) from the Pinned, Trapped, or Blocked Robot.

                      Comment


                      • #56
                        &lt;G16&gt; Pinning, Trapping, or Blocking Robots

                        Originally posted by FTC0965
                        Still need a little more clarification on defensive moves, sorry. <G16> appears to allow pinning, trapping and blocking for up to 5 seconds. Trying to be very direct:

                        Question 1: Can a robot directly block access to an opposing alliance's beacon for less than 5 seconds, without incurring a penalty, even if an opposing alliance's robot is attempting to score at that beacon?

                        Question 2: Can a robot push an opposing alliance's robot away from a beacon it is trying to score on without incurring a penalty? This assumes that the push is of reasonable intensity and not likely to harm a well-built robot.

                        Thanks.


                        Answer 1: Yes.

                        Answer 2: Yes.

                        Comment


                        • #57
                          RG02 - Robot Iniialization

                          Originally posted by FTC3740
                          I know the robot has to fit in a 18"x 18" x 18" sizing box to pass inspection.
                          When the robot is set on the field for game play and the robot is initialized, if a servo moving to an initialization point makes a part extend beyond the 18" x 18" x 18", is that ok?
                          A: The Robot must remain within the 18" x 18" x 18" configuration until the start of the match. A Robot that extends beyond this configuration when Initialized is not legal.

                          Comment


                          • #58
                            Originally posted by FTC1000
                            If my robot loses connection in a match, and the Field Technical Advisor can prove that the problem isn't my code, my wiring, my battery, my robot controller battery, or my drivers station battery, can I ask for a replay of the match, since the lost connection is proven to not be a problem with my robot?


                            Answer: Per <G25> there are two conditions that must both be met for a match replay to be granted
                            1. A failure of a Game Element or verified Wi-Fi interference
                            2. An impact that is likely to have affected which Alliance won the Match


                            The failure described does not satisfy condition #1 and does not warrant a match replay.

                            Comment


                            • #59
                              &lt;G8&gt; Stopping Game Play Late

                              Originally posted by FTC7468
                              We have some questions about rule <G8> which says in part:
                              "Robots that do not stop playing the game at the end of the Autonomous or Driver-Controlled Periods when competition personnel or timer software announce the end of a Match period receive a Minor Penalty and the actions of the Robot occurring after the end of a Match period do not count towards their Alliance’s Score. Referees have the option of issuing a Major Penalty in place of the Minor Penalty if the late stop results in a competitive advantage (other than Scoring) for the offending Alliance."

                              Question 1: Does this rule mean that if a robot stops game play late and scores after the end of the match, they will be assessed only a minor penalty and the scoring will not count?
                              Question 2: Can you give some more specifics and/or examples of competitive advantages other than scoring? We are having difficulty coming up with any.

                              Answer 1: Yes.

                              Answer 2: The general game rules (<Gn>) are written to be non-game specific so that they can be reused from season to season with few or no changes. For this season's game, there are not many non-Scoring Robot actions after the end of a period that produce a competitive advantage. For VELOCITY VORTEX, the act of Possessing additional Particles after the end of the Autonomous Period gives an Alliance a non-Scoring competitive advantage for the start of the Driver-Controlled Period.

                              Comment


                              • #60
                                &lt;G8&gt; Stopping Game Play Late - Flywheel Coasting to a Stop

                                Originally posted by FTC11801
                                We are using a flywheel to launch particles into the center vortex. A DC motor gradually builds up rotational inertia in the flywheel and the flywheel's inertia launches the particles.

                                The motor controller has the option of either floating/coasting the motor to a stop or suddenly braking the motor to a stop. Selecting the brake option means that calling SetPower(0.0) on the DC motor will force the DC motor to suddenly absorb the inertia stored up in the flywheel. To avoid this stress on the DC motor, we select the float option.

                                Question: Is there a penalty if a flywheel continues rotating after the end of a match as it coasts to a stop?

                                Answer: No.

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X