Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Autonomous Period - Answer Thread

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Autonomous Period - Answer Thread

    Answers to questions posted pertaining to the Autonomous Period.
    Last edited by Administrator; 09-22-2016, 10:06 AM.

  • #2
    <GS2> Particle Scoring Eligibility & Game Manual Part 1 Section 5.3.1

    Section 5.3.1 of the Game Manual Part 1 asks teams to reflect on their Robot's design and the question: “If everybody did this, would the game play be impossible? If the answer to the question is yes, the design component is probably not allowed."

    VELOCITY VORTEX is played with Particles that are Scored in goals and recycled back to the Playing Field for continuous game play. The Game Design Committee's intent is for open recycling, where Scored Particles return to random locations on the Playing Field Floor so that both Robots on an Alliance have an equal opportunity to access, Control, or Possess their Alliance's Scored Particles. A closed recycling game strategy that denies a reasonable opportunity for an Alliance Partner Robot to access, Control, or Possess a Scored Particle is not in the spirit of the FIRST Tech Challenge and is not allowed. Game play with closed recycling of Particles would be impossible and unfair to Alliance Partners. Therefore, Robot designs and/or game strategies that deny their Alliance Partner equal access to Scored Particles, is considered to be a violation of rule <GS2>.

    Comment


    • #3
      Section 1.5.2 Autonomous Period Beacon: Triggering the Beacon Button Multiple Times

      Originally posted by FTC4211
      Question: Is the robot allowed to press the Beacon Button twice in the Autonomous period in order to correct a mistake? Thanks!

      Answer: Yes, the action described is allowed. There is no rule that limits the number of times a Robot may press a Beacon trigger button in the Autonomous and Driver-Controlled Periods.

      Tip from the Game Design Committee: To help prevent accidental resetting of a Beacon twice by a button press, there is a built-in five second delay after a button is released before the trigger buttons become active and are able to change the illuminated state of the Beacon again.

      Comment


      • #4
        Section 1.5.2 Autonomous Period - Robot Scoring Particles From Its Starting Location

        Originally posted by FTC7171
        Question: Are robots required to move before throwing particles into the center vortex during the autonomous period?

        Thank you.

        Answer: No, Robots are allowed to launch Particles without moving from their Match starting location.

        Comment


        • #5
          &lt;G16&gt; Pinning, Trapping or Blocking Robots-Access to Beacons in the Autonomous Period

          Originally posted by FTC8923
          Question 1: Is it legal for a robot to block the opposing alliance's beacons during the Autonomous Period? We are aware of the rules stating that you may not enter the other side for 10 seconds, and that you may not score the other beacons, but can you block access to them?

          Question 2: If not, could your robot intentionally "sweep" the area to push other robots away from their beacons? We ask as we have seen similar defensive play in autonomous play in previous years.

          Thanks!

          Answer 1: Intentional Blocking of an opposing Alliance Robot from accessing their Alliance's Beacon during the Autonomous Period violates rule <G16>.

          Answer 2: Yes, this is an allowed strategy, provided that the opposing Alliance Robot does not become Pinned, Trapped, or Blocked. See rule <G16> for the details.

          Comment


          • #6
            Section 1.5.2 Autonomous Period - Stoping Game Play Early

            Originally posted by FTC8923
            Question: Is it legal for drivers to press the stop button on the Driver Station during the Autonomous Period? We realize that teams could strategically stop their robots, but what if the robot starts to cause damage? Are the drivers allowed to prevent damage by stopping the robot midway through the Autonomous Period? Can the drive team ask the referee to be allowed to stop their robot in these kinds of situations?

            Thanks!

            Answer: Drive Teams may not stop game play early during the Autonomous Period for strategic reasons. Drive Teams with the cooperation of either a Referee, Field Technical Advisor, or Field Technical Advisor Assistant may press the stop button on the Driver Station if there is unexpected Robot behavior that has or is very likely to damage another Robot, the Playing Field, or the Robot itself.

            Comment


            • #7
              Section 1.5.2.3 Autonomous Period Particle Scoring and Rule &lt;GS10&gt;

              Originally posted by FTC9915
              Question 1: During autonomous, if our robot picks up the opposing alliance's particles and shoots them into the center vortex, does it count? There is no way during autonomous to intentionally pick up opposing alliance's particles, it has to be accidental, right?
              Question 2: Is there a penalty if opposing alliance's particles our robot accidentally picked up remain inside our robot when autonomous is ended?

              Answer 1: Yes, Particles Scored during the Autonomous Period into an Alliance-specific Center Vortex earn fifteen points each for the Alliance corresponding to that Vortex, regardless of Particle color and the Alliance Robot that launched the Particle.

              The action described in the question is Controlling an opposing Alliance's Particle and that violates rule <GS10>. After the first warning, a Major Penalty is assessed and an additional Minor Penalty is assessed for every five seconds that the rule violation persists. The rule applies to intentional and accidental Control of the opposing Alliance's Particle.

              Repeated violation of <GS10> could bring the Egragious Behaviour rule ,<G26>, into play for flagrant violation of game rules.

              Answer 2: Rule <GS10> is violated in the Autonomous and Driver-Controlled Periods as soon as a Robot Controls the opposing Alliance's Particle. There is no "free pass" to Control an opposing Alliance's Particle during the Autonomous Period. Rule <GS10> Penalties will be assessed during the Autonomous Period and continue during the Driver-Controlled Period until the opposing Alliance's Particle has been released from the Robot.

              Tip from the Game Design Committee: Turn off the Robot's Particle collection system during the Autonomous Period to avoid violating rule <GS10>.

              Comment


              • #8
                &lt;G16&gt; Pinning, Trapping, or Blocking Robots - Access to a Beacon

                Originally posted by FTC9915
                Question 1: During autonomous, after 10 seconds, is it legal to move our robot to just outside of the white gaffe tape, this still gives opposing alliance's robot enough room to access their beacon from other directions if it's programmed to?

                Question 2: During autonomous, after 10 seconds, while our robot is moving towards an opposing alliance's beacon, a few inches away from white gaffe tape line area, collides with opposing alliance's robot, both are stalled afterwards, does it violate blocking, pinning, trapping according rule of G16?

                Question 3: During autonomous, after 10 seconds, is it legal to move our robot to the middle of opposing alliance's two beacons? Is this a blocking access scenario?

                Question 4:
                Essentially, the question is which area our robot can move to in the opposing alliance side doesn't violate G16?

                Answer 1: The action described is legal, if the Robot playing defense is Outside the Area defined by the soft foam floor tile (not including the tile connecting teeth) that contains the one-inch-wide gaffers tape.

                Answer 2: The action described is legal, if the Robot playing defense is Outside the Area defined by the soft foam floor tile (not including the tile connecting teeth) that contains the one-inch-wide strip of white gaffers tape.

                Answer 3: This is a legal strategy, if the Robot playing defense is Outside the Area defined by the soft foam floor tile (not including the tile connecting teeth) that contains the one-inch-wide strip of white gaffers tape when an opposing Alliance Robot attempts to access the Beacon.

                Answer 4: It is a <G16> rule violation for Blocking, if a Robot is attempting to access its Alliance's Beacon and an opposing Alliance Robot is Inside the Area defined by the soft foam floor tile (not including the tile connecting teeth) that contains the one-inch-wide strip of white gaffers tape.

                Tip from the Game Design Committee: Triggering the Beacon is a high value achievement during the Autonomous Period. The game rules were written to protect Robots that are actively attempting to access their Alliance's Beacons during the Autonomous Period. Referees will pay very close attention to Robots that intentionally Pin, Trap, or Block an opposing Alliance Robot that is actively attempting to access their Alliance's Beacon during the Autonomous Period. Robots should stay clear of the soft foam tile containing the white gaffers tape on the opposing Alliance's side of the Playing Field during the Autonomous Period.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Section 1.5.2.1 Autonomous Period-Beacon Triggered in Favor of the Opposing Alliance

                  Originally posted by FTC9765
                  Question: If, during autonomous, a robot mistakenly activates the wrong color on one of their alliance's beacons, do they still earn an extra particle, or would the other alliance?

                  Example: Red alliance mistakenly activates one of their beacons to blue, and blue alliance doesn't score one of their own beacons. Would the blue alliance receive the particle? The rule specifies that "the states of all the Claims determines how many bonus Particles are released (up to a maximum of two)")

                  Answer: For the example, if the Beacon is illuminated blue at the end of the Autonomous Period, the Blue Alliance will receive one Blue Particle and thirty points for the Beacon triggered in their favor by the Red Alliance Robot.

                  Tip from the Game Design Committee: Robots may avoid awarding a Particle and points to the opposing Alliance by recognizing that the Beacon was triggered in favor of the opposing Alliance and pressing the button again to change the Beacon color.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Section 1.5.2.1 Autonomous Period - Adding Earned Particles to the Playing Field

                    Originally posted by FTC7655
                    1.5.2 Autonomous period summary: "...the bonus Particles, if any, will be introduced onto the field by the Referees by placing them into the corresponding Alliance’s Corner Vortex for the Alliance that earned them so that they roll down one of the Particle Returns."

                    Question: Is it to be assumed that it will be the decision of the referee as to which of the Particle Returns the new Particles are introduced? And once decided, would it be the same for both alliances?

                    The concern is that perhaps one Particle Run introduces the Bonus Particles in a way more beneficial to one Alliance if the introduction is not standard.

                    Answer: A referee will place the Particle in the Corner Vortex where the left and right side Particle Return ramps meet at the Vortex Bar. The Particle should have an equal likelihood of rolling down the left or right ramp. The intent is that the Particle will be introduced to a random location on the Playing Field Floor, subject to the design of the Corner Vortex Particle Return ramps.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      &lt;G16&gt; Pinning, Trapping, or Blocking Robots - Blocking Access to a Beacon

                      Originally posted by FTC8391
                      Post #5, Answer #2 in the autonomous period answer thread states that it is legal to "'sweep' the area to push other robots away from their beacons," provided that "the opposing Alliance Robot does not become Pinned, Trapped, or Blocked".

                      Post #8 in the autonomous period answer thread states that "Robots should stay clear of the soft foam tile containing the white gaffers tape on the opposing Alliance's side of the Playing Field during the Autonomous Period."

                      In the Game Manual, Blocking is defined as "Preventing an opposing Alliance Robot from accessing an Area or Alliance specific Game Element for an extended period of time by obstructing ALL paths of travel to the object or Area."

                      Question: Is it legal for a robot to "sweep" (drive over but not park on) the opposing Alliance's side of the Playing Field (including the area by the beacons) during autonomous after the 10 seconds have passed?

                      Answer: It is legal for a Robot to drive around Inside the opposing Alliance's Area of the Playing Field after the first ten seconds of the Autonomous Period have elapsed. Keep in mind that all of the rules apply to the Autonomous Period unless the Game Manual or Q&A Forum grants an exception. For example, rule <G16> is violated if the defending Robot is Inside the Area defined by the soft foam floor tile (not including the tile connecting teeth) that contains the one-inch-wide strip of white gaffers tape at the same time that an opposing Alliance Robot is approaching their Alliance's Beacon. In this scenario, the defending Robot is Blocking because it is between the opposing Alliance Robot and their Alliance's Beacon. A rule <G16> violation can occur if the defending Robot is Parked or moving. "Staying clear of the soft foam tile containing the white gaffers tape" is a guideline that will help to keep a Robot from receiving a Penalty for Blocking access to the opposing Alliance's Beacon.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        &lt;GS3&gt; Corner Vortex Scoring Violations - Parking on the Corner Vortex

                        Originally posted by FTC9849
                        Question: When parking a robot on the Corner Vortex during the autonomous period, to preclude sliding back down the ramp, is it legal to have one of your robot's wheels parked in the Vortex Bar area where the level changes from the Corner Vortex Ramp to the Particle Return ramp? There would be no part of the robot grasping, only the wheel sitting in the lower level of where balls are scored. Thanks for all you do.

                        Answer: The Robot in the scenario is violating the Corner Vortex Scoring rule <GS3>, because it is breaking the vertical plane of the outside (facing the Playing Field Wall) vertical face of the Vortex Bar and it is probably making contact with the Particle Return ramp.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          &lt;G16&gt; Blocking Robots - Parking on the Opposing Alliance's Corner Vortex

                          Originally posted by FTC6567
                          Scenario: Ten seconds or later in the autonomous period a red alliance robot goes over to the blue alliance side of the playing field and intentionally parks on the blue alliance corner vortex.

                          Question 1: Is doing this legal as long as it is after 10 seconds?

                          Question 2: Will the red alliance robot earn points for parking on the corner vortex?

                          Thank you!

                          Answer 1: This is a legal strategy, provided that a Blue Alliance Robot doesn't attempt to access the Corner Vortex while it is Blocked by the Red Alliance Robot.

                          Rule <G16> Penalties will come into play if a Blue Alliance Robot attempts to access the Corner Vortex while access is Blocked by the Red Alliance Robot that is intentionally Parked or Completely Parked On the Corner Vortex.

                          Rule <G16> Penalties will not come into play if, in the opinion of the referees, the intent of the Red Alliance Robot was not to Park on the opposing Alliance's Corner Vortex. For example, rule <G16> Penalties will not come into play if Parking on the Corner Vortex was caused by the Red Alliance Robot colliding with another Robot.

                          Answer 2: Yes, even if rule <G16> Penalties come into play.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Triggering Beacons during the Autonomous Period

                            Originally posted by FTC9968
                            Question 1: May a robot trigger both of their alliance's beacons during the autonomous period?

                            Question 2: May a robot push the opposing alliance's beacons after the ten seconds is up?

                            Thanks

                            Answer 1: Yes.

                            Answer 2: No, per rule <GS6>.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Section 1.5.2 Autonomous Period - Robot Parking Completely On the Center Vortex

                              Originally posted by FTC9901
                              Section 1.5.2 #4 states that "Robots Parked Completely On the Center Vortex Base Area earn ten (10) points". Since the Center Vortex Base Area is 2 ft. x 2 ft (with a pole on center point), what is the definition of "parking completely" (for the case when a robot is 18 in x 18 in)? From my understanding, parking completely on center vortex base area is impossible for this robot dimension.

                              Answer: The term "Completely On" is defined in Section 1.4 of the Game Manual Part 2 in the "On/Completely On" section. The definition of Completely On applies to all Robot sizes.

                              Challenge from the Game Design Committee: Professor Proton envisions three ways that a Robot with an 18 inch x 18 inch drivetrain footprint can Park Completely On the Center Vortex Base. Will a Robot with a maximum footprint dimension accomplish this achievement in an official Match?
                              Last edited by Buzz; 12-15-2016, 11:21 AM.

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X