No announcement yet.

General Robot Rules

This is a sticky topic.
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • General Robot Rules

    Answers to questions about General Robot Rules.

  • #2

    Originally posted by FTC14188
    Q1: Is vacuum allowed if generated by FTC legal motors??

    Q2: If vacuum is allowed are air tanks allowed to store that energy?
    A1: Yes, vacuum is allowed providing the system that generates the vacuum does not create a higher-than-ambient pressure anywhere in the system.

    A2: No, vacuum storage tanks are not allowed.


    • #3

      Drivetrain Marks

      Originally posted by FTC10650

      Question:[/B] According to rule <I8> in Game Manual Part 1, "Discoloration or black marks alone are not considered field damage." Our team is using GoBilda's new mecum wheels, and GoBilda has recently come out with rollers which can be dyed. If small amount of colored dye come off on field tiles during the Field Damage Test, would that be a violation of rule <I8>?
      A: Yes. Rule <I8> allows for marks caused by the COTS wheels. Transfer of paints, dyes, lubricants, etc. from the Robot to the playing field floor is considered Field Damage and will result in a penalty.


      • #4
        Robot Size

        Originally posted by Guest
        Q: <RG02> states the maximum starting size of a robot must fit into an 18" cube. A cube cut on it's hypotenuse would have it's longest side be 25", allowing for a 25" x 18" drive base. The robot could be measured for compliance by first tipping it on it's side before using the sizing tool. Would a robot having a drive base larger than 18" x 18" be legal if it still fits inside the 18" cube dimensions?
        A: The Robot, in it's starting configuration as it sits on the Tile Floor at the start of the Match, must fit into the 18" sizing cube. There is nothing in the rules that says the Robot cannot start tipped on it's side, providing it can remain in that position without outside support (i.e. the Perimeter wall) until the Match has started.
        Last edited by Luke Skywalker; 10-07-2019, 05:20 PM.


        • #5
          Alliance Marker

          Originally posted by FTC16072
          Q: RG06 seems to say that the markers must be a solid red square and a solid blue circle respectively. Can they both be out of a 2.5 square but have the circle and square painted on the material? (so you could have an inset that they went into that was the same for both.)
          A: Rule <RG06> refers to the image of the Red Square and Blue Circle, they must be solid colors approximately 2.5" in size. They can be mounted on anything you like of whatever size you prefer, as long as no other rules are violated.


          • #6

            Originally posted by FTC13804
            Q: Follow up question to FTC 14188's question on vacuum storage vessels dated 10-01-2019. Can we use a syringe to create the vacuum? Does the syringe count as a vacuum storage vessel?
            A: Pulling a vacuum using a syringe is legal, however reversing the direction of the syringe and forcing air out through tubing can create a positive pressure and is illegal. This is especially true in circumstances where the Stone may be trapped between the gripper and the wall (or other Field Element) which would result in higher than atmospheric pressure in the syringe.


            • #7
              Allowable Vacuum Devices

              Originally posted by FTC10138
              Q: We know that vacuum systems are allowed as long as they use an approved motor (or servo) for power. Our question relates to COTS air “pumps” that could be modified and used with respect to the one degree of freedom restriction. We know in all cases that air outlets must be unrestricted to prevent any possibility of positive pressure. Would the following be permitted?
              1. Q1: Diaphragm style pump. These typically consist of a top flexible diaphragm and two flap “check” valves. Everything moves in the same direction (up down with movement of the diaphragm).
              2. Q2: If #1 is not permitted, could the pump be fabricated using just the diaphragm and adding a chamber and valves separately?
              3. Q3: A “turbine” style pump with a fan and shroud (similar to most hand vacuums or air pumps)? These consist of an impeller plate and a contoured housing.
              4. Q4: A small vacuum pump with rotating spring-loaded vanes? This would be run without flooded oil (but would be lubricated, no more than a chain might be lubricated).
              A: A commercial off the shelf (COTS) vacuum pump is not legal if any of the following apply:
              a) if it compresses air in any form. Rule <RG01> applies
              b) If there is more than one degree of freedom (i.e. pistons, diaphram, valves, etc.) Rule <RM02> applies
              c) if the vacuum pump motor is not listed in Rule < RE09>

              A1: This would not be allowed as it violates Rule <RM02>
              A2: This is legal providing it is designed in such a way that there is absolutely no possibility of positive pressure building up in the system. This is especially important in situations where the Stone may get jammed or if the output ports get blocked. If a jam or blockage occurs and the system can possibly create a positive pressure, then the device is illegal.
              A3: Yes this device is legal. The restrictions in A2 apply.
              A4: Yes, this device is legal. The restrictions in A2 apply. Teams must be able to demonstrate to the Inspector that the Stones or playing field will not be contaminated by any residual oil in the system.