Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do I resolve stuck in loop() error on robot?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I resolve stuck in loop() error on robot?

First time posting on my personal team account

I am Samuel Tukua of Paulding County team 11857. This is my first year programming with FIRST software and I am on my own for code comprehension and creation. I had to create a code based off of previous years codes, examples, and online help. For this reason I do not all of the code functionalities and get somewhat lost with some of the error reports. One error that has plagued me since the beginning of the year is the "Stuck In loop()" error that I receive when running the autonomous mode. I have tried countless times to try and fix this issue but it continues to happen. I've done enough research to know that the loop() error happens due to a watchdog thread which finds unstopping loops and terminates the running opmode that generates those loops. I have attempted the following solutions to fix the problem:
    -running through the code by hand to find what would generate a loop from my current version
    -checking the directions that the robot is told to turn
    -putting an idle() at the end of every while loop
    -removing sleep(milliseconds) functions
    -checking that the robot is moving appropriately in response to all commands
    -ensuring that no threads are left without termination before the commencement of a new thread
    -changing the execution order of the code
    -removing certain methods of the opmode from the execution list and examining the outcome
    -switching to a new set of phones
    -updating the phones
    -checking that the IMU gyro works properly by using the provided sample code
    -restarting the robot many times
    -checking wire configurations
    -manually creating a new version of the opmode that came from OpMode instead of LinearOpMode