Leagues and new Ranking Point/Tie Breaking Point reporting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leagues and new Ranking Point/Tie Breaking Point reporting

The new method for reporting ranking points and tie breaking point is to present the average. How will this work in the League System? Before, at the league championship, the ten best matches was the starting point. So if a team played 10 match and won 9 and lost 1, they started with 18 ranking points while a team that only played five matches and went 5-0 started with 10 ranking points. In the new system, the team that played 10 matches will start at 1.8 RP while the team that played 5 matches will start at 2.0 RP.

As a league manager, I second this question! A team could win 5 matches at their first event and no-show the rest of the league events, and end up with a 2 RP average. However, they would still need to play in the league championship qualifying matches, and a loss there would hurt them a lot more than a team that had played more matches (due to their denominator being a lower number of total matches). So maybe it takes care of itself.

One way to handle this (and the TBP issue) would be to implement FRC-like bonus RPs.
    FTC 4962 / 3638
    FLL 11 / 21 / 9293

Comment

Let me hazard an unofficial opinion. The average is mostly for display purposes, so that the audience can tell how things are shaking out at all times, not just in the perfect moment when one round has completed and the next has not started. In the league scenario, if the best 10 matches are the criteria, I think the team that only had 5 perfect matches also gets 5 losses to round out their 10 required matches, bringing the average down to 1.

Comment

What makes sense to me is that the average has to encompass all meets where the score was originally summed.