Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Soft flexible parts allowed to extend beyond 18"?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • FTC15167
    started a topic Soft flexible parts allowed to extend beyond 18"?

    Soft flexible parts allowed to extend beyond 18"?

    Hello everyone,
    I have a question about the 18" cube limit.

    What if we had something which extends beyond 18" but is flexible enough to slide into the 18" box judges use?
    Will that be allowed?

    Our current intake mechanism is very inefficient. We may want to add a roller mechanism to the front of the robot which uses spinning surgical tubes to ingest the minerals. All the metal parts will be well within the 18" cube constraints. But there will be around 2" of flexible surgical tubing extending beyond 18" at the front side. The robot will easily slide into the 18" box inspection judges use. We really do not have the time to redesign and rebuild the whole robot so that everything fits into 18" before our next qualifier.

    What do you say?

    -Raj
    Mentor, FTC 15167

  • FTC6041
    replied
    Everything has to be within that 18 inches at the start of the match. As soon as the buzzer goes, then the robot can extend out.

    Leave a comment:


  • FTC15167
    replied
    Thank you for the response.
    Sorry if this was already been asked, we are a rookie team and FIRST forums are new to us.

    Anyway, from the last paragraph of your post........my interpretation is that zip tie sticking out makes the robot not legal.

    Further confirmed by this: https://ftcforum.usfirst.org/forum/f...3170#post43170


    RG02 - Zip Ties


    Originally posted by FTC11123
    We are using zip ties as flexible flails that extend past the front of the robot. When we set the sizing box over the robot, it fits easily because the flails bend down without impeding anything but they do touch the side walls. Is this legal?



    A: No, this is not legal. The sizing box is exerting a force on the zip ties causing them to bend and this violates rule <RG02>.

    Leave a comment:


  • 3805Mentor
    replied
    I can't find that anyone has asked the question this year in the official game rules forum, but IIRC the answer every time it has come up has been the same.

    Look for the RG02 titled posts in the link below. -

    https://ftcforum.usfirst.org/search?...zing+box%22%7D

    A Robot is allowed to touch/rub against the inside of the sizing box providing the interior surface of the box is not constraining the bot. For instance, if a Robot were a perfect cube measuring 18 x 18 x 18 it would touch all sides but still be legal. However, if a part of the robot sticks out, say a zip tie, but when the Robot is placed inside the box the zip tie is deflected to fit inside the 18 x 18 x 18 size then this is not legal since the box itself is constraining the Robot.

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X