How do I Post to the Game Q&A Forum?

Welcome to the FTC Game Q&A Forum! If this is your first time here, please refer to the Instructions for Forum Use section before posting.

Thank you!

Posts created to sell a product or service are not permitted and will be deleted!

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Judges Interview - Answer Thread

  1. #1

    Lightbulb Judges Interview - Answer Thread

    Answers to questions posted pertaining to the Judges Interview.
    Last edited by Administrator; 09-22-2016 at 01:50 PM.

  2. #2
    Global Judge Advisor
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    5

    Team Participation in the Judge's Interview

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC9657 View Post
    We were wondering if it's required to have the entire team in the interview room/counts against you if you do not have the entire team. We have a rather large team, so would there be harm in having designated presenters and only having them go in? Particularly if things like the Motivate Award say "all Team members participate in their presentation." We would still have most team members present.
    Answer: Taking a look at the Game Manual Part 1...

    4.6.3: Each Team should have at least two student Team representatives and the Robot available; the entire Team is encouraged to participate.
    7.4.1: No awards will be determined on the basis of this interview alone.
    7.5.6 Motivate Award: This Team embraces the culture of FIRST and clearly demonstrates what it means to be a Team. Required criteria includes Team can articulate the individual contributions of each Team member, and how these attribute to the overall success of the Team. Strongly suggested criteria includes All Team members participate in their presentation, and actively engage with the judges.

    So with that we can answer your questions...

    1) Is it required to have the entire team in the interview: No
    2) Does it count against you if you do not have the entire team: It is not required, but suggested.

    Judges will want to see how your team functions and communicates as a whole. The more opportunities Judges have to see your team in action (including the interview), the more information they will have when making their decisions. There are many reasons why team members may be absent from the interview. Perhaps they are sick, or could not make the event. Maybe there is something critical that needs to be happening in the pit (because, nothing goes wrong in the last minute... right?). Or maybe you have a massive team, and the logistics of squeezing everyone in the interview room has an overall effect of lowering the quality of the information you give to the judges. This will need to be something that your team decides. Keep in mind though, if you do leave team members out of the interview, judges may want to know why!

    Finally I'll leave this answer with a question. Is there a way team members participate in the interview but not be physically in the room?
    Last edited by Howard; 12-13-2016 at 09:55 AM.

  3. #3
    Global Judge Advisor
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    5

    Nominated For / Winning Multiple Awards

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC7043 View Post
    My question is can a team still be nominated for the Inspire award if the team wins the control award at the same event?
    There are actually two questions here.

    Question 1: Can a Team be nominated for multiple Awards
    Answer: Yes, during Judge deliberation Teams may be nominated (by Judges) for multiple Awards.

    Question 2: Can a Team win multiple Awards
    Answer: At a given event, a Team may win only one of the Judged Awards: Inspire, Think, Innovate, Design, Connect, Motivate, Control, and Judge's Award (if offered). Finalists of awards (including Inspire 2nd place and Inspire 3rd place) do not count as an Award winner. The video Awards (Compass and Promote) are judged separately and Teams may win one or both video Awards in addition to one of the Judged Awards.

    So with that let's revisit the original question.

    Question 0: Can a team still be nominated for the Inspire Award if the team wins the Control Award at the same event?
    Answer: Yes, but if a Team wins Control, they can not also win Inspire. However they could win Control and also be recognized as an Inspire Finalist (2nd or 3rd place).
    Last edited by Howard; 12-28-2016 at 12:19 PM.

  4. #4
    Global Judge Advisor
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    5

    Could submitting for Control actually hurt a Team's chance at Inspire?

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC5414 View Post
    With regard to Post #3 in the Judging Interview Thread, what would happen if you are the only team to submit a Control Award entry at a given competition. Since you would be the only eligible team at the competition, I would assume you would win the Control Award; however, would you then be ineligible for the Inspire Award?
    Excellent question!

    Answer: Teams should not be concerned that applying for Control in any way decreases their likelihood for consideration for Inspire.

    First, If only one Team submits a Control Award, do they automatically win that Award? No, not automatically. In order for a Team to win an Award they must meet all of the Requirements of that Award. If no Team meets all of the requirements, then the Award may not be given at an Event. Submitting for the Control Award only satisfies one of the Requirements.

    Second, I think a different way to ask the question is "Will a Team disqualify themselves from Inspire if they happen to be the only Team that meets the requirements for another award?" No, Judges make determinations based on for which Award the Team is strongest. If the Judges feel the Team should be the Inspire winner, then they would be recognized as the Inspire winner. If, as a result, the pool of possible winners of another Award drops to zero, then that Award would not be presented.

    For example. Say Teams X and Y are the only contenders for the Control Award, but X is stronger in Think and Y is stronger in Inspire. Then X would be recognized for Think, Y would be recognized for Inspire, and Control Award would not be presented as there are no eligible teams.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •