How do I Post to the Game Q&A Forum?

Welcome to the FTC Game Q&A Forum! If this is your first time here, please refer to the Instructions for Forum Use section before posting.

Thank you!

Posts created to sell a product or service are not permitted and will be deleted!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: Autonomous Period - Answer Thread

  1. #21
    Game Design Committee Member Professor Proton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    701

    <GS4> Drive Team Touching the Driver Station After Beacon Randomization and <G26>

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC10841 View Post
    Question: During Autonomous, the robot was stopped prior to the end of the 30 seconds. Does the team receive a penalty or is the robot disabled for the driver controlled period?

    Answer: The Robot may participate in the Driver-Controlled Period and multiple Penalties could come into play. Rule <G26> for egregious behavior is violated if the Drive Team stops their Robot during the Autonomous Period for strategic reasons. A rule <G26> violation will result in a Yellow Card and Major Penalty for the offending Team. Subsequent violations of rule <G26> will result in Team Disqualification from the tournament.

    Section 1.5.2 in the Game Manual Part 2 states that "Teams are not allowed to control Robot behavior with the Driver Station or any other actions during the Autonomous Period." Rule <GS4> is violated if the Team uses the Driver Station or any other actions to stop their Robot from playing the game during the Autonomous Period. If rule <GS4> is violated, a Minor Penalty will be assessed and the affected Robot is not eligible to Claim a Beacon in the Autonomous Period.

    Drive Teams may stop their Robot for safety reasons without Penalty. When possible, consult with a Field Technical Advisor or Referee before stopping a Robot for safety reasons during the Autonomous Period.

    No Penalty is assessed when the robot controller software without intervention by the Team, stops the Robot from playing the game early.

  2. #22
    Game Design Committee Member Professor Proton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    701

    <GS7> Autonomous Period Robot Keep Out Area

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC8735 View Post
    Scenario: A red alliance robot is pressing the beacon button during its autonomous run. During the first 10 seconds of the autonomous period, a blue alliance robot intentionally crosses into the red alliance's side of the playing field and interferes with the red alliance robot. The red alliance robot is not able to continue its autonomous routine to claim the second beacon and move the cap ball off the center vortex base as it has successfully done in previous matches. Are any rules violated by the blue alliance robot?

    Answer: Yes, rule <GS7> is violated because the Blue Alliance Robot entered the opposing Alliance's Area of the Playing Field during the first ten seconds of the Autonomous Period. A Major Penalty should be assessed because the action by the Blue Alliance Robot is not Inadvertent and Inconsequential.

  3. #23
    Game Design Committee Member Professor Proton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    701

    Center Vortex Scoring and Particle Eligibility for re-Scoring

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC5485 View Post
    Question: If a robot scores a particle in the center vortex during the autonomous period but the particle falls back onto the robot and does not touch the floor, does the robot still score the 15 points since the particle traveled through the vortex?

    Answer: Yes, the Particle counts as Scored if it was released into the goal and rolled through the Vortex. The Particle "falling back onto the Robot" after Scoring does not cancel out the points awarded for the legally Scored Particle. The Particle is not eligible to be Scored again until it contacts the Playing Field Floor.

  4. #24
    Game Design Committee Member Professor Proton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    701

    <G16> Pinning, Trapping, or Blocking Robots - Beacon Access

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC8390 View Post
    Question: After the first 10 seconds of the Autonomous period, may RobotA repeatedly enter an opponent's tile with the white tape in front of a beacon, remain there for under 5 seconds, then leave the tile entirely for a second, and repeat the process over and over for the remainder of the Autonomous period, for the purpose of pushing or otherwise hindering opposing robots trying to push their beacon buttons, if there is no period of time when RobotA occupies the tile with the white tape for more than 5 consecutive seconds (as G16 says is necessary for Blocking penalties to apply)?

    Answer: In this scenario, the Autonomous Period exception for enforcing rule <G16> does not apply because the Robot is using a deliberate strategy. The defensive Robot must move away at least three feet from the restricted Area around the Beacon after each Blocking event. Since the Team is intentionally violating or "gaming" a rule, they are likely to be warned by the referees about egregious behavior and the consequences or rule <G26>. In this scenario, the Team should expect the referees to rapidly escalate to applying <G26> consequences to the Team.

  5. #25
    Game Design Committee Member Professor Proton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    701

    <G16> Pinning, Trapping, or Blocking Robots - Beacon Access

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC8390 View Post
    Post #24 in the Autonomous Period - Answer Thread says:

    "Question: After the first 10 seconds of the Autonomous period, may RobotA repeatedly enter an opponent's tile with the white tape in front of a beacon, remain there for under 5 seconds, then leave the tile entirely for a second, and repeat the process over and over for the remainder of the Autonomous period, for the purpose of pushing or otherwise hindering opposing robots trying to push their beacon buttons, if there is no period of time when RobotA occupies the tile with the white tape for more than 5 consecutive seconds (as G16 says is necessary for Blocking penalties to apply)?

    Answer: In this scenario, the Autonomous Period exception for enforcing rule <G16> does not apply because the Robot is using a deliberate strategy. The defensive Robot must move away at least three feet from the restricted Area around the Beacon after each Blocking event. Since the Team is intentionally violating or "gaming" a rule, they are likely to be warned by the referees about egregious behavior and the consequences or rule <G26>. In this scenario, the Team should expect the referees to rapidly escalate to applying <G26> consequences to the Team."


    Post #56 in the Miscellaneous Game Questions - Answer Thread says:

    "Still need a little more clarification on defensive moves, sorry. <G16> appears to allow pinning, trapping and blocking for up to 5 seconds. Trying to be very direct:

    Question 1: Can a robot directly block access to an opposing alliance's beacon for less than 5 seconds, without incurring a penalty, even if an opposing alliance's robot is attempting to score at that beacon?

    Question 2: Can a robot push an opposing alliance's robot away from a beacon it is trying to score on without incurring a penalty? This assumes that the push is of reasonable intensity and not likely to harm a well-built robot.

    Answer 1: Yes.

    Answer 2: Yes."

    Question: From these two answers, may we conclude that a robot (either in the Autonomous Period after 10 seconds or the Driver Controlled Period) may directly block access to an opposing alliance's beacon or push them away from a beacon for less than 5 seconds one time without penalty if they subsequently back away and do not attempt to repeat the strategy, but that a robot (either in the Autonomous Period after 10 seconds or the Driver Controlled Period) that attempts to do this repeatedly after only briefly backing away is subject to <G16> and possible <G26> penalties?

    Answer: Yes.

  6. #26
    Game Design Committee Member Professor Proton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    701

    <GS10> Controlling an Opposing Alliance's Particle

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC8045 View Post
    Question 1: During the driver-controlled period, it seems fairly consistent across tournaments that GS10 penalties are not given until the robot passes the 5 second control time period. Is this the same for the Autonomous period?

    Question 2: The response above includes "After the first Warning..." Does this mean that the first 5 second control in Autonomous/Teleop is just a warning? if not can you explain what is meant by the phase "After the first warning"?

    Question 3: We also note ruling http://ftcforum.usfirst.org/showthre...ll=1#post33777 applies here. The brief control of opponent's particles in order to access the beacons is allowed. Our interpretation here is that pushing an opponent's particles while driving towards the beacon is not controlling, is that correct?

    We'd appreciate a quick turnaround as our design window is rapidly shrinking! Thanks for the Challenge!

    Answer 1: Yes, in the Autonomous and Driver-Controlled periods, a referee will give a <GS10> warning to the Drive Team followed by a five second count before a Penalty is assessed. If the Robot has not stopped Controlling the opposing Alliance's Particle after a five second period following a warning from a referee has passed, the escalation path should be followed and a Major Penalty assessed. An additional Minor Penalty should be assessed for each additional five second period that the violation continues.

    Answer 2: See Answer #1.

    Answer 3: Yes, the Robot's action is not a violation of rule <GS10> if the intent demonstrated by the Robot is to play offense (i.e. interact with the Beacon).

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •