How do I Post to the Game Q&A Forum?

Welcome to the FTC Game Q&A Forum! If this is your first time here, please refer to the Instructions for Forum Use section before posting.

Thank you!

Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 113

Thread: Game Rules and Game Play - Answer Thread

  1. #61
    FTC BLOCK PARTY! Game Expert GDC Building Block's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    383

    Robot Alignment Device

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC7337 View Post
    This is a follow-up question to this post:
    Quote Originally Posted by FTC7337 View Post
    http://ftcforum.usfirst.org/showthre...ull=1#post8342

    Q: Can an alignment device be used if it meets all five of these constraints:

    1. It is permanently attached to the robot
    2. It fits completely inside the 18" cube when not deployed
    3. It extends beyond the 18" cube during the pre-match robot setup ONLY
    4. It is extended manually by the drivers (does not require power, remote control or autonomous control)
    5. It is returned to within the 18" cube by the drivers prior to the "hands-off" instruction from the referee.
    A: No, 3, 4, and 5 violate rule <G1> because the alignment device extends beyond the 18" cube.
    Last edited by GDC Building Block; 12-04-2013 at 12:01 PM. Reason: Corrected format.

  2. #62
    Game Design Committee Member GDC Snowball Effect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    340

    Alignment/Measurment during setup for autonomous period

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC6054 View Post
    During the setup for the autonomous period, are you allowed to align your robot using measuring devices such as a yardstick, level, t-square or similar device?

    A: No, according to Rule <G1>: Alignment devices are allowed only if they are constructed from legal components and they remain within the starting volume constraint.

  3. #63
    Game Design Committee Member GDC Snowball Effect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    340

    When can we run the Robot Initialization Routine?

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC5405 View Post
    We have a question about when we can run the Robot Initialization Routine.
    We understand that the robot must be 18x18x18 to pass inspection and when placed on the field to start a match.
    Can we run the Robot Initialization Routine prior to the start of the timed autonomous period or only after it has begun?
    Thank you.

    A: Assuming it is programmed to do so, the Robot Initialization routine is run at the start of autonomous period prior to the robots waiting for the match to begin. It is not an automatic procedure and teams will have to put their own code into the initialization routine.

    The purpose of the Robot Initialization routine is outlined in Robot Rule <RG04>b. It may NOT be used for any other purpose. After the Robot Initialization routine is run for the Autonomous Period, the robot must still be withing the 18x18x18 size restriction (i.e. the initialization cannot cause the robot to grow bigger).
    Last edited by GDC Snowball Effect; 12-09-2013 at 06:34 PM.

  4. #64
    Game Design Committee Member GDC Snowball Effect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    340

    Double Hanging in the End Game

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC6543 View Post
    In most cases, during the End Game period, two alliance teams usually cooperate by doing different end game tasks. One hangs on a bar, and another raises a flag. The alliance's highest possible score is to gain 85 points, 35 from raising a flag to its full height, and 50 from hanging from the bar. But what happens when both alliance teams have their robots both hang on the bar together? How many points would be earned? Could the alliance earn 100 points, 50 for each robot?

    A: As long as both robots are hanging in their own side of the bridge, they would earn 50 points each (for a total of 100 points).

  5. #65
    Game Design Committee Member GDC Snowball Effect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    340

    Multiple robots hang and <GS7> violation

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC5873 View Post
    In the scenarios below, there are two robots (A and B), on the same Alliance hanging from the Pull-Up Bar at the end of the Match. Please advise on the scoring (if any) and the number of major penalties for the Alliance under these scenarios:
    1) Robot A is Completely Inside the Alliance's Hanging Zone. Robot B encroaches on the opposing Alliance's Hanging Zone and violates <GS7> (technically, robot B is not Hanging because it does not satisfy all the constraints in the definition of Hanging).
    2) Both A and B violate <GS7>. Obviously there is no scoring, but are two penalties assessed or just one?
    3) Scenario 1, except that robot B does not contact the Pull-Up Bar directly, but is instead being lifted by robot A, which is contacting the Pull-Up Bar.
    4) Scenario 3, except that robot A is encroaching and and the lifted robot (B) is Completely Inside the Hanging Zone.


    By encroaching, I'm assuming the robot has extended beyond the buffer zone and is hanging with a portion of the robot extended into the opposing alliance Hanging Zone.

    A1) Robot A earns 50 points (assuming it is hanging). Robot B gets a Major Penalty for Hanging Interference.
    A2) Both robots would receive a Major Penalty for Hanging Interference.
    A3) Robot B would receive a Major Penalty. Robot A would earn 50 points for a legal hang
    A4) Robot A would receive a Major Penalty and Robot B would be earn 50 for a legal hang.
    Last edited by GDC Snowball Effect; 12-30-2013 at 01:49 PM.

  6. #66
    Game Design Committee Member GDC Snowball Effect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    340

    Autonomous Programming

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC7785 View Post
    We just want to confirm that we are allowed to change our autonomous program between matches. We want to have multiple programs ready to use based on what our various alliance partners do.

    A: Yes, you may change your programs between matches. However, the programming and any re-downloading to the NXT must be done in the pit area and not in the queuing line or on the field before the match starts.

  7. #67
    Game Design Committee Member GDC Snowball Effect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    340

    Autonomous Block Removal at End of Autonomous

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC4211 View Post
    Q1: If the Autonomous Block is not scored during the Autonomous Period will it be removed from the robot before Tele-Op begins?

    Q2: If the Autonomous Block becomes caught/trapped inside the robot during Autonomous can teams ask the Referees to remove the block before Tele-Op begins?

    Thanks!!

    A1: No.
    A2: No.
    Last edited by GDC Snowball Effect; 12-09-2013 at 06:00 PM.

  8. #68
    Game Design Committee Member GDC Snowball Effect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    340

    Effects of Failed Double Hang

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC6124 View Post
    These questions pertain to the following situation: a robot is hanging and then its alliance partner comes on the bridge and attempts a "double hang" on their alliance side of the bridge but fails to complete the double hang.

    If the first robot is hanging but is in contact with its alliance partner which is still supported by the bridge, does the first robot receive the 50 point bonus? If the first robot is hanging and the second robot pushes the first robot so it swings away from its initial hanging position but the first robot remains leaning against the second robot (but would be fully supported by the bar if the second robot were removed), does the first robot receive the 50 point hanging bonus? I guess these questions come down to the definition of "supported" in the definition of Hanging which says that a robot "must be supported solely by the Pull Up Bar".

    Touching a robot on the same alliance that is not hung or has failed to hang has the effect of negating the original hang. The only exception to this rule is if the original hanging robot is in contact with a robot from the opposing alliance (as stipulated in the definition of "Hanging").

  9. #69
    Game Design Committee Member GDC Snowball Effect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    340

    Autonomous question

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC5499 View Post
    "<GS2> Robots may not make contact with an opposing Alliance’s Pendulum unless they are in the act of Scoring in that
    Pendulum (see restriction in <GS3>). Violations will result in a Major Penalty per occurrence. Contact that is
    determined by the Referees to be Inadvertent and Inconsequential will not result in a Penalty."

    The idea for a strategy is to move on to the ramp and score a cube in a very swift manor and while on the ramp lower one side of the opposing alliance pendulum during the autonomous phase only and then during the telop immediately remove our mechanism to move the opposing alliance pendulum and never touch it again during the telop phase.
    Is this allowed?

    A: If the cube is being scored into the opposing alliance's pendulum goal, then this strategy is legal assuming that the team runs out of time to remove their mechanism from the pendulum to not incur the penalty. However, if it is determined that they are not scoring a block or they are finished scoring a block and they remain on the pendulum goal, then they will incur a Major Penalty.

  10. #70
    Game Design Committee Member GDC Snowball Effect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    340

    Items in Alliance Station

    Quote Originally Posted by FTC7337 View Post
    Are there restrictions on what items the two drivers and/or one coach may possess inside the Alliance Station during the match? We are wondering about things such as note card reminders that list strategy options, program names, pre-game and post-game checklists, stopwatches for time management, etc. All items would be held or worn (neck lanyard, pin, etc.) by one of the three team members.

    A: Other than electronic communication devices and other items that would violate a Safety Rule, a team may possess any item inside the Alliance Station.

Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •