Due to an increase of spam on the FTC forums, new user accounts must contain:
1. a valid email address
2. a reference to a valid FTC team number
3. a valid location (city, state/province)
New accounts will be manually verified before users are able to post to forums.
Please Note: Game Q&A forum posts must be made using the forum login and password assigned to your team. The main contact for your team will find your team credentials on the Team Summary page of your TIMS account.
We are very sorry for the unavoidable delays that manual verification creates. Thank you for your patience.
We have been using Ad hoc and will compete in our first tournament next week. We currently use the usb connection to our laptop when we are in Adhoc. How will we run the joystick at the tournament? Do we connect the joystick to our laptop and then connect to a wireless?
Teams are required to use the wireless computer network provided by the Tournament Organizers or venue for all robot communication. This includes a Field Control System (FCS), game pad controllers, and communication hardware. You should bring your computer and game pad controllers for your use in the practice field, however you must use the computer network that the Tournament Organizer has set up. You may NOT use an Ad Hoc network in the pits.
Can an alliance captain decline to join an alliance, but later accept an invitation from another alliance captain?
For example, take this situation:
Captain 1 picks Captain 3, Captain 3 declines. Can Captain 2 pick Captain 3? Section 3.6.7 makes it clear that teams who are not captains can't decline an invitation and then later join an alliance, but the question has to do with captains having won the right to play together. This question comes up because many schools have multiple teams and if they have both made it as captains and want to play together, the question is whether they can, or if Captain 1 should always go down the line asking Captain 2 and Captain 3 to join as alliance partners as a defensive strategy.
No, an alliance captain cannot join a different alliance once they have declined an invitation from another alliance. Declining an invitation means that the alliance captain wants to remain an alliance captain. The appropriate ruling is from 3.6.7: "If a team declines, they CANNOT be invited into another alliance, but are still available to select their own alliance if the opportunity arises."